Hello, World!

Hi, and welcome to Thirty Seconds on High! My name is Anne. This is my first time blogging and I have no idea what I’m doing! I guess I will figure it out as I go. So bear with me! I did figure out how to edit the “About” page so be sure to check it out.

I’d like to share a recipe with you. My sister-in-law actually asked me for this recipe this past week. She and her family are getting in the Christmas cookie spirit and remembered that I had made these in the past and they liked them. I’m super happy about that. All of it – that they’re gearing up for Christmas cookies, remembered that I made these before and that they liked them so much that they asked me for the recipe. Isn’t that the ultimate compliment? When someone asks for your recipe? Thank you!!!!!!

Now for the recipe:

 

Peanut Butter Blossoms
adapted from The Fannie Farmer Cookbook

IngredientsPeanut Butter Blossoms

1 c shortening
1 t vanilla
1 c granulated sugar
1 c brown sugar
2 eggs, beaten
1 c peanut butter
3 c flour
1/8 t salt
2 t baking soda
chocolate kisses

What To Do

Preheat the oven to 350. In a mixing bowl, thoroughly cream the shortening, vanilla, and sugars. Add the eggs and beat well. Stir in the peanut butter. Mix together the flour, salt, and baking soda, and add to the peanut butter mixture, combining thoroughly.

Form dough into balls and bake 8 – 10 minutes. Immediately put a chocolate kiss in the middle of each cookie when you take them out of the oven. Let cool for about 5 minutes before transferring them to a cooling rack.

My Comments

This cookie dough gets thick. A stand mixer really does come in handy. I know not everyone has one (the only reason I have one is because it was a gift) so if you’re using a hand-held mixer, try cutting the recipe in half so it’s more manageable. If you’re making this without a machine of any sort, I hope you’re stronger than I am!

Some people (probably most people) roll the cookie dough balls in sugar before baking – sometimes I do and sometimes I don’t. It does add a nice little crunch and sparkle. Try it both ways and see what you like!

I ALWAYS chill this cookie dough at least overnight before using it. There’s some scientific reason that doing this helps keeps the cookie soft and after trying it both ways, I believe it. I love soft cookies.

Also, I use a cookie scoop so each cookie is the same size. Every time I try to roll dough in my hands, it looks like one of those toy tops that you spin on a table. Whoever invented the cookie scoop really has my love and admiration forever. Anyway, if you are using chilled dough, depending on how much you want the cookie to spread, you may have to squish down to dough ball some. I usually test out two cookies first – one just how it comes out of the scoop and the other squished down some to see how the dough wants to behave.

A fun variation is to put red and/or green M-n-Ms into the dough before baking (make the dough ball and then stick some into the dough on top before putting in the oven).

Christmas PB M-n-M Cookies

3 thoughts on “Hello, World!

  1. The Real Big Al says:

    All the cool people aparently leave their comments in the ‘about’ section but I was told to use this one so here goes… the blog looks great and I look forward to trying the amazing cookie recipe… to all those who try and usurp the Real Big Al’s name, a reckoning is coming my friend… Cracker Barrel style…

Leave a Comment

