Adding Moisture to Dry Indoor Air

So here’s a quick, cheap, tip for all of you who’s indoor air is already dry because of winter.  Or your air is going to be dry because of winter.  In case you don’t know, I strongly dislike winter.  Winter is not my friend…

 

…though I do like hot chocolate and soft, warm blankets.

 

In my mind, adding moisture to the air helps you feel warmer, helps your skin, helps breathing, and my plants like it too.  Instead of buying a humidfier which requires maintenance and money and a place to store over the summer, what I do is put water in bread pans and place on the vents.  You know, the vents where heat comes out.  Then the water evaporates into the air.  I guess the water evaporates whether or not the heat is on but I like to think that when the heat kicks on, the water kicks into action and makes my home a better place.  Keep in mind I don’t have any indoor pets (well, not in the house, anyway). I don’t know if pans of water sitting around the house would create problems for your 4-legged friends.

 

So, you might think, “Bread pans, really? Aren’t you supposed to bake bread in bread pans?” Well, yes and yes.  When I first started doing this, I used old aluminum pie tins but they ended up leaking.  I don’t know the exact rate of water evaporation but I knew something was up when I had to refill the tin a day later.  After thinking of what else I could use and what best fit the shape of the vent, I decided on bread pans.  Glass ones.  Or something that won’t melt or rust.  And no, I did not spend big bucks on brand new fancy bread pans! I went to Goodwill and Habitat for Humanity’s ReStore in search of the perfect, cheap bread pan.  I spent less than $2 for the two I have.  They had plenty of containers to choose from in many shapes and sizes.  I’m sure a yard sale would be a good place to look too.

 

You may find, at some point, the pans will get a white substance stuck on them.  I’m assuming that’s calcium buildup or something that’s in the water that doesn’t evaporate.  You can wash that out or just don’t let your container run out of water before refilling.

 

I hope you find this tip helpful.  Bread pans get my vote: cheap, easy to store, low maintenance.  Here’s to a better winter…

Glass bread panPlastic Bread Pan

4 thoughts on “Adding Moisture to Dry Indoor Air

Leave a Comment

