Crock Pot Shredded Chicken Chili

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

It seems like the majority of New Year’s resolutions have something to do with diet and exercise so here’s a healthy, easy, tasty recipe that is satisfying and comforting and great to come home to on a cold winter night.  Of course, if you’re not experiencing winter, well, it’s still healthy, easy, tasty, satisfying and comforting!

 

Crock Pot Shredded Chicken Chili
slightly adapted from Crepes of WrathCrock Pot Shredded Chicken Chili

Ingredients
1 onion, diced
1 16-oz can black beans
1 16-oz can kidney beans
1 8-oz can tomato sauce
1 14.5-oz can diced tomatoes with green chilies
1 15-oz can diced tomatoes
1 packet of taco seasoning, low sodium if you can find it
3 boneless chicken breasts
Optional toppings: chopped fresh cilantro, low-fat sour cream or non-fat plain yogurt, shredded cheese

What To Do
Rinse and drain both cans of beans.

Combine all ingredients except the chicken breasts and optional toppings in a crock pot.

Place the chicken breasts on top and put the lid on.

Cook on low for 10 hours or on high for 6 hours.

About half an hour before serving, remove the chicken and shred it.  Return it to the crock pot and stir it all up.

Top your bowl of Shredded Chicken Chili with whatever you like!

My Comments
It’s even better if you cook your own beans but I know canned beans are much more convenient.

If you look at the original recipe, you can learn how to make your own taco seasoning, which is supposedly healthier.  Also, that post has you use 2 cans of diced tomatoes with green chilies.  I tried that, but it had too much kick for me.  One can was enough and besides, I wanted to use up some of the tomatoes I put in the freezer from my garden.

I don’t know if there are different ways to shred the chicken, but I just use two forks to pull it apart.  I also usually just shred it right in the crock pot instead of removing it and then putting it back in.

I love the addition of fresh cilantro.  Lucky for me, I brought my cilantro in from my garden when Fall decided to arrive and it’s still alive!

 

Here’s to a happy and healthy 2013!

2 thoughts on “Crock Pot Shredded Chicken Chili

Leave a Comment

