Using Used Dryer Sheets to Dust

Whew! I don’t know about you, but now that Christmas and New Year’s has come and gone, I’m ready for life to slow down a little bit.  Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed all the festivities very much but getting back to “normal” has its perks too.

Yesterday I started putting away our Christmas decorations.  We didn’t put much out to begin with…and we didn’t get them out until (gasp!) the Thursday before Christmas…so I don’t feel like I have to get them all put away super soon.  However, I did need to get started on our cute little tree because this coming week is Tree Collection Week by our city.  After I got the ornaments off (the lights are still on it – maybe today I’ll get them off), I decided to take a little break and enjoy some hot tea.

 

Then I noticed it.

 

All of it.

 

THE DUST HAS SETTLED…in more ways than one.

<< Insert scary music here >>

 

Now, I’m pretty sure some of you are going to think I’m plumb crazy but hear me out.  Dryer sheets are pretty amazing.  I don’t know how they work but they do.  I have found that after one use, they still hold some of their magical power to attract lint…and…DUST.  So when I finish a load of laundry, I keep the used dryer sheet.  There’s a stash of them on top of our dryer.

When I’m in a pinch (i.e., spontaneously invite people over) or when I see dust but don’t feel like doing “real” cleaning or when I just want to do a little light cleaning inbetween those “real” cleanings, I grab a used dryer sheet or two and quickly wipe off the dusty surface.  This works great for the TV, the computer, furniture, counters, mirrors, pretty much any surface.  I love it because you don’t have to spray the dryer sheet with anything.  No, you won’t have that fresh lemon scent, but I’m okay with that.

So after enjoying my tea, I grabbed two used dryer sheets and demolished some dust.

 

Seeing is believing when it comes to miracle cleaning products:

100_5583

Okay, I admit this might not truly belong in the “miracle” category, but you can see the difference between dusty (top) and not dusty (bottom).  It really does work and it’s always a good thing when products can be reused.

 

As the dust settles in your household, I hope you have many happy memories from 2012 and that 2013 is off to a good clean start!

4 thoughts on “Using Used Dryer Sheets to Dust

  1. Teri says:

    It’s good to find out that there’s a purpose for all those used dryer sheets that are littering my house on any given day. Thanks for the tip. 🙂

Leave a Comment

