Blueberry Buckle

I may have alluded to how I feel about winter in a previous post.  It’s not just the cold I have problems with but also the fact that good local fresh fruit is nonexistent.  Lucky for me, I have blueberries in the freezer from summertime.  I strongly encourage all of you who live where the seasons change to stock up at a U-pick farm or the farmer’s market during the summer and freeze enough to enjoy throughout the long cold winter months.  You’ll be glad you did.  It takes a little extra work, but it’s soooooo worth it!

For example, because I put in some extra work over the summer, I’m enjoying this tasty taste of summer for breakfast this week:

 

Blueberry Buckle
from The King Arthur Flour Baker’s Companion

Ingredients for the Batter
3/4 c sugar
4 T butter, softened
1 Egg (remember, large and at room temp!)
1/2 c milk (yup, room temp too)
2 c unbleached all-purpose flour
2 t baking powder
1/2 t salt
1/4 t ground cardamom (optional)
1 t vanilla extract (optional)
2 c blueberries (fresh, or if frozen, unthawed)

Ingredients for the Streusel
3/4 c sugar
3/4 c unbleached all-purpose flour
1 t cinnamon
2-3 t lemon zest, or 1/8 t lemon oil
1/2 t salt
5 1/3 T butter, softened

What To Do
Grease and flour a 9″ square or 9″ round pan and preheat oven to 375°F.

Batter: Cream together the sugar and butter, then add the egg and mix at medium speed for 1 minute.  Whisk together the dry ingredients.  Stir in the milk alternately with the dry ingredients and vanilla, scraping down the sides of the bowl.  Gently fold in the blueberries.  Spread the batter in the prepared pan.

Streusel: In a medium-sized bowl, whisk together the sugar, flour, cinammon, lemon and salt.  Add the butter, mixing to make medium-sized crumbs.  Sprinkle the streusel evenly over the batter.

Bake the buckle for 45-50 minutes, or until a cake tester inserted into the center comes out clean.  Remove from the oven, and cool it (in the pan) on a rack before serving.

My Comments
I’ve never put cardamom in.  I always put in the vanilla.

I don’t usually have a lemon sitting around so I most often leave the lemon zest out of the streusel.  I have put it in a couple times.  Tastes great either way.  Have never tried lemon oil.

I like to sift all the dry ingredients for the batter so there are no lumps.  Sifting also incorporates more air so it’s lighter.  I don’t mean the kind of sifter with a hand crank.  I mean the wire mesh one that sits on top of the bowl so you can just dump your ingredients in it and then it sifts on its way to the bowl.  Like mining for gold.  Easy.

If you use frozen blueberries, the batter will be thick.  So thick that you may, ahem, break your spoon if you’re not using a sturdy one.  Not that I know for sure or anything.

For mixing the butter into the streusel…the most fun way is to use your fingers but if you don’t want to get messy, I think using a pastry blender is the best way to go.  Another worthy investment and they don’t really cost all that much.  Good way to exercise your arm muscles too.

Cake tester = toothpick.

I like this best served warm.

 

I noticed that it’s staying light out later so summer is on its way.  Until then, I hope you try this Blueberry Buckle and enjoy it as much as I do.  Here it is again up close.  YUM!

2 thoughts on “Blueberry Buckle

  1. Teri says:

    And we’re only two months (and a week) away from spring!!!! Very encouraging!!! the buckle looks delicious. I’ve broken a spoon before stirring batter. Baking can be dangerous. ha

Leave a Comment

