Roasted Tomato Basil Soup

It’s really cold.  I know it is January and to be expected but my goodness.  It’s really cold.  As I was day dreaming of warmer days I remembered all the tomatoes I put in the freezer from my garden over the summer and decided to make this soup.  It’s full of flavor and perfect to warm you up on a cold day or night.  I know I’ve mentioned before – it pays to stock up on produce over the summer at a farmer’s market or your own garden (or a friend’s garden) when it’s in season and plentiful and then freeze it for winter use.

 

Roasted Tomato Basil Soup
slightly adapted from Two Peas & Their PodRoasted Tomato Basil Soup

Ingredients
2.5 lbs Roma tomatoes, cut in half lengthwise
4 T olive oil, divided
salt & pepper, to taste, for seasoning the tomatoes
1 medium onion, chopped
4 cloves of garlic, minced
1 c freshly chopped basil
1 15-oz can of diced tomatoes
4 c vegetable or chicken broth
salt & pepper to taste

What To Do
Preheat oven to 400° F. Spread the tomatoes on a baking sheet and drizzle with 2 tablespoons of olive oil. Season with salt and pepper and roast for about 45 minutes.

In a large stockpot, heat the other 2 tablespoons of olive oil over medium heat. Add the onion and cook until tender, about 2-3 minutes. Stir in the garlic. Cook for another 2-3 minutes. Add the canned tomatoes, fresh basil, and vegetable/chicken broth. Stir in the oven roasted tomatoes. Cook for about 30 minutes over medium-low heat.

Transfer the soup to a food processor or blender to blend. The soup should be smooth, with a few tomato chunks. Season with salt and pepper, to taste, and serve warm.

My Comments
First and foremost, wait for the soup to cool down before putting it in your blender!!!! If you don’t, I guarantee you will have soup making all kinds of “art” on your walls and cabinets and counters and floor.

Perhaps I should have waited and given you this recipe over the summer so you can plan ahead when storing your tomatoes.  You can roast and purée the roma tomatoes before freezing them.  You can also dice tomatoes and freeze them in 15-oz increments.  A kitchen scale really comes in handy! Anyway, I do apologize and hope your grocery store has decent produce so you can make this soup now if you don’t already have tomatoes to work with.

This soup freezes well if you want to make the whole recipe and then save some for later.

 

I’m going to have some of this soup for lunch today.  It’s really good and I hope you get to have some soon too!

5 thoughts on “Roasted Tomato Basil Soup

  1. Teri says:

    I need to stock up next spring and summer at the farmer’s markets. You’re making me realize I need to plan ahead more for the winter season when tomatoes taste so blah and fake. :\

  2. rab says:

    I made more tomato basil soup today. I was sure that I had chicken broth but it was beef. I could not really detected a difference (the last time I made this I used chicken broth). So you can substitute beef for chicken and not change the overall flavor.

  3. Ruth Benton says:

    I recently shared this recipe with both of my sisters who had an abundance of fresh tomatoes.
    They loved it!!! Yummy, easy and freezes well for this winter.

    • Thank you, Ruth! I’m so glad your sisters were able to try out this recipe and that they loved it. And I’m glad they have an abundance of tomatoes this year!

Leave a Comment

