Reusing Cereal Bags to Make Graham Cracker Crumbs

I know you can buy graham cracker crumbs at the store but that’s never appealed to me.  I buy graham crackers and crush them myself as needed.  I know I could use a fancy schmancy food processor but I’m a little old fashioned and like to do things in a more manual way sometimes.  And plus, I didn’t always have a food processor.  And plus plus, I like to find ways to reuse things that would normally just go in the trash.  And plus plus plus, I hate throwing things in the trash that could be reused.

 

So we have the cereal bag.  It’s thick, it’s strong, it’s plastic…and where I live, it cannot be recycled.
Cereal Bag

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Surely there is another use for this bag after the cereal is all gone.

Why yes, there is.

Now I can’t take credit for this.  I don’t know exactly how I learned to do this, or exactly who I learned it from, but it’s just something I’ve always done.  I’m guessing it’s something I learned growing up.  It has to be.  Yup, let’s go with that.

 

Anyway…one way to reuse a cereal bag is to make your own graham cracker crumbs!

Graham Crackers

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Simply put a package of graham crackers (unwrapped) in the cereal bag and break them up with your hands.  Get out your rolling pin, or if you don’t have one, try a canned good or anything with a similar shape, though I’ve never used anything but a rolling pin so I don’t really know how well a can of soup would work, but I think it would work just fine.  I’ve never thought about it until now…
Graham Cracker 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Use your rolling pin (or something similar) to start crushing and rolling.  Be careful not to get too close to the open end of the bag.  As I’m doing “the crush and roll” I periodically pick the bag up so the crumbs fall back down towards the bottom of the bag.  I flip the bag over too to make sure I get all the crackers crushed evenly.

Graham Crackers 4

Graham Crackers 3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And voila! You have graham cracker crumbs!
Graham Cracker Crumbs

Store your homemade graham cracker crumbs in an airtight container.  They last a long time.

 

This method leaves you with no dirty dishes or machine parts.  It is fun and if you had a frustrating day, you can take it out on the innocent graham crackers and not feel bad about it.  I reuse my cereal bags until they get holes in them and then I have to throw them away but I feel good about prolonging their life.  I’m sure there are other ways to reuse cereal bags but this is what I do.  I tried crushing candy canes in them once but they were too sharp when they broke and poked holes in the bag and just made a giant mess.

 

I had a reason for recently making a fresh “batch” of graham cracker crumbs.  You’ll find out soon.  Until then, if you run out of cereal, keep that bag because you’re gonna need it!

2 thoughts on “Reusing Cereal Bags to Make Graham Cracker Crumbs

  1. On behalf of the bubble wrap society of america (hereafter referred to simply as BWSOA), we are directing you to cease and desist any attempts to substitute smashing graham crackers for the pure joy that is popping bubble wrap in order to ‘let off steam’, ‘get past a frustrating day’, or simply ‘have a great time’. Graham cracker smashing is a serious business and BWSOA does not appreciate your attempted infringement on our territory. Good day, pop pop

Leave a Comment

