My Berlin Kitchen

I hope your weekend is off to a great start! I have Fridays off and since it was cold and snowing outside and since I felt I needed a break from the usual, I decided to curl up with a book.  Well, I did a pay one bill and put away some clean dishes.  I guess I didn’t completely throw responsibility out the door.

Anyway, the other day Matt came home from the library with three books he thought I’d be interested in My Berlin Kitchenreading.  I had just finished a rather long fiction book and I suppose he thought I shouldn’t let too much time go by before I started a new book.  So I picked the one I was most in the mood for and ended up reading the entire thing.  I chose a non-fiction book, “My Berlin Kitchen” by Luisa Weiss.

I had never heard of Luisa Weiss.  She is only a year older than me.  She was born in Berlin to an American father and an Italian mother.  She has a food blog and her book is a memoir of her journey and how food has been a constant companion through all the ups and downs she has experienced throughout life.  And she has had a lot of ups and downs, as most of us do.

Luisa tells her story in a way that made it hard for me to put the book down.  I wanted to know what happened next.  She also shares recipes that are near and dear to her heart that complete whatever story she’s telling.  I think she’s easy to relate to.  We all have circumstances in life that were thrust upon us, decisions we have to make, consequences to live with, and peace that we seek.  And it’s nice to take a day to escape into someone else’s world and see how it all unraveled and turned out for them.  Luisa learned to be brave and I think that’s a lesson we all have to learn at some point.

So, if you’re looking for an interesting look into someone else’s life, with recipes and inspiration to boot, give “My Berlin Kitchen” a try.  Be sure to have some snacks handy because the way she describes food will certainly make you hungry!

 

Leave a Comment

