Guiltless Alfredo Sauce

Several years ago, I bought a jar of alfredo sauce from the store.  It turned out to be one of the most disgusting things I’d ever eaten.  I was so surprised because I really liked alfredo sauce when I ordered some kind of pasta alfredo when I went out to eat.  Well, suffice it to say, I never bought alfredo sauce again.  I only ate it at restaurants.

Fast forward to last year.  I saw a recipe on one of my favorite food blogs for “Guiltless Alfredo Sauce” and it looked pretty easy and the author convinced me it was worth trying.  And wow, I’m SO glad I did.  It’s super delicious and you can’t tell at all that it’s healthier than normal alfredo sauce.  No more having to eat out in order to enjoy some alfredo sauce!

 

Guiltless Alfredo SauceGuiltless Alfredo Sauce
from Our Best Bites

Ingredients
2 c low fat milk (I always use 2%)
3 oz low fat cream cheese (I confess, I never buy low fat cream cheese, only full fat)
2 – 3 T flour
1 t salt
2 T butter
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 c grated Parmesan cheese (I buy a bag of finely shredded)

What To Do
Put milk, cream cheese, flour and salt in a blender and blend until smooth.

In a non-stick sauce pan, melt butter on med-high heat and add garlic.  Cook the garlic for about 30 seconds, or until fragrant.  You don’t want it to burn.

Add the milk mixture to the sauce pan and stir constantly for 3-4 minutes or until it just comes to a simmer.  Continue stirring for a few more minutes until thickened.

When it’s thickened, remove from heat and stir in the cheese.  Cover immediately and let it sit for at least 10 minutes before using.  It will continue to thicken upon standing.

You can store leftover sauce in the fridge.  It will solidify some but just reheat it and add a little milk if needed and it’s ready to go.

My Comments
I make this in my big non-stick skillet because then I can easily add my cooked pasta and other additions to it when it’s done.

This makes about 2.5 cups worth of sauce.

 

Here’s my most recent use of this sauce.  I just added some cooked fettuccini pasta and cooked shrimp to the alfredo sauce.

Shrimp Fettuccini Alfredo

Making your own alfredo sauce saves money and calories but does not skimp on flavor.  I also use this sauce when I make Chicken Caesar Lasagna…but that’s another recipe for another post.  Have a tasty day!

4 thoughts on “Guiltless Alfredo Sauce

  1. My eyes are playing tricks on me, for a minute I thought it said ‘Gutless Alfredo Sauce’ 🙂 Regardless, looks and tastes delicious 🙂

  2. Lori says:

    Yum I will be making it this weekend! also I always buy the one-third less fat cream cheese and it works out great

Leave a Comment