Whole Chicken in a Crock Pot – Part 2

Welcome to Part 2: Homemade Chicken Broth!

 

There are a lot of movies sequels out there that weren’t really necessary or good…but this Part 2 is awesome! Like I mentioned in Part 1, making your own chicken broth is one more way that buying and cooking a whole chicken saves you money.  I’ve done this twice now and love it.  The first time, I used the bones/carcass from a rotisserie chicken I had bought from the grocery store.  The broth was so much better (taste-wise and healthier – less sodium I believe) than store-bought and I couldn’t believe I’d never thought to do it before.

 

Last week was my second time making my own broth.  It’s so very easy and I just LOVE getting more bang for my buck.

 

So, here’s what the chicken looked like when it was finished in the crock pot:

Crock Pot Chicken After

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

See all the juice that’s in there? Well, leave it there.  After you take all the chicken out, put the bones back in (or leave them there to begin with since most of the chicken just comes off the bone when trying to remove it from the pot anyway).  Leave the onion in there too.

Add the chicken neck that you removed from the chicken before cooking it.

Add any number of things: a couple carrots or a handful of baby carrots, a couple stalks of celery cut in a few pieces, another small onion cut up into a few big chunks, a few garlic cloves, herbs (I used rosemary but you can also use sage, thyme, parsley, etc.), a little kosher salt and pepper.  I think these items are the basics.  Feel free to throw in more or less depending on what you have on hand or what you like.

Then add water.  I don’t know how much, really.  The first time I put in enough to cover all the contents and my crock pot was about full (it was a smaller one than the one in the picture).  This time, I put in enough that the liquid reached probably 2 or 3 inches below the top.

After you add water, put the lid on and cook on low for about 8 hours.  Again, your house will smell really good.

Then let it cool some and strain all the stuff out.  Let it completely cool and remove any fat that rises to the top.

Then store it.  I measured it out into 1-cup increments and put it all in the freezer.

 

Whenever you need chicken broth, you can then defrost what you need and feel good about what’s actually in your broth, how it tastes, and how it didn’t cost a lot.  Hooray!

2 thoughts on “Whole Chicken in a Crock Pot – Part 2

  1. The title of this post sounds like a Smiths song: ‘Chicken in a Crock Pot’ is the new ‘Girlfriend in a Coma’ 🙂 Maybe thats just me though. The recipe/technique is great and very cost effective 🙂

Leave a Comment

