Handy Kitchen Gadgets

Happy St. Patrick’s Day! Are you feeling lucky?

In some of my previous food-related posts, I mentioned a gadget or two that really helped me out so I thought it’d be a good idea to do a post just for my favorite gadgets.  Now, I’m not super into gadgets but there are some that really help me out and I love having them.  Dare I say…I feel lucky to have them…my chance of creating something wonderful is greatly increased because of them…okay, enough of me foolishness…

 

Some of these I’ve mentioned previously and some I’ve yet to mention.  I consider these beyond the basics utensils.  I love my rubber spatula too.

 

kitchen gadgets

 

  1. Kitchen Scale: One day I’ll get a digital one but for now this one works great! Great for measuring all kinds of things by weight!  When I need to weigh spaghetti noodles I just use a clear plastic plate instead of that bowl.
  2. Microplane Grater/Zester: I used to use my cheese grater when needing to zest lemons but it was always a disaster.  I hated zesting and often avoided recipes that required it.  I saw chefs on TV use this kind of grater/zester so I tried it and I absolutely love it!! Now I love zesting lemons! It’s so easy to use and for cleaning it, I use an old toothbrush with a drop of dish soap.
  3. Egg Separater: Now I know you can use your hands or the eggshells to separate yolks from egg whites but I’m no good at it.  I love my little egg separater and it has a little lip on one end so I can set it on top of a cup or bowl for the egg whites to fall into.
  4. Pastry Blender: I love using this when I need to cut butter into flour.  I used to use two knives but this is much more efficient and does a much better job.
  5. Cookie Scoop: Oh my.  I do love my cookie scoop.  This one is a 1″ scoop.  I have a smaller one too.  Use this to form cookie dough into equal sized balls that bake into uniform cookies and also to put equal amounts of batter into cupcakes tins/liners.  It’s also much cleaner to use a cookie scoop for cupcake batter – the batter doesn’t spill in random places like it does when you (or at least when I) use a spoon.
  6. Wire Mesh Strainer: Two sizes shown.  Great for straining solids from liquids.  Great for sifting dry ingredients together.  The little one is great for dusting brownies or lemon bars or whatever with powdered sugar.  These also sit nicely on top of a bowl or cup.  I use an old toothbrush to clean these too.
  7. Garlic Mincer: This was a wedding present.  I’d never minced garlic before owning this.  I guess you could use a knife to chop up garlic into real tiny pieces but I love putting cloves of garlic in this and then crushing it and see it come out the other side.  It’s kinda like pushing playdough through the thing with circles or squares cut out of it.  It’s fun.
  8. Silicone Baking Mat: Baking cookies is so much easier when you line the cookie sheet with a silicone baking mat.  It’s better than parchment paper and you can reuse the silicone mat, which means less waste.  One side is shiny to put cookie dough on.  The other side has a ruler on it and it not shiny – I think it’s for making pie crust or dough for biscuits or bread.  I’ve only used the shiny cookie side.  Cleaning it is super easy and leaves your cookie sheets clean too.

 

These are a few of my favorite things (I know, the Sound of Music is not Irish) in the kitchen.  They make my life better.  They’re in the pot of gold at the end of my kitchen rainbow.

 

I’ve been very blessed (not only by kitchen gadgets) and here’s a little Irish blessing for you:

 

May there always be work for your hands to do,
May your purse always hold a coin or two.
May the sun always shine warm on your windowpane,
May a rainbow be certain to follow each rain.
May the hand of a friend always be near you,
And may God fill your heart with gladness to cheer you.

9 thoughts on “Handy Kitchen Gadgets

  1. Matt says:

    Great post!! March 17th, my favorite day of the year 🙂 Nice list o’ gadgets… I would add the pizza cutter to the list (apparently I eat way too much pizza 🙂 Those Irish sure have a lot of blessings… I was reading a different one the other day, something about being in heaven an hour before or some such stuff.

    • You could write your own Irish blessing – being in heaven an hour early with your very own pizza cutter and pizza fresh out of the oven!

  2. Lori says:

    I love your posts! Made the Alfredo (yum) and planning on the chicken and broth. My mom always makes homemade broth and we freeze it for the thanksgiving noodles. Love your humor, practicality and great tips that really work. You are good at this blog stuff!

  3. Lisa Lynch says:

    Um yeah, I don’t own any of these. lol. Definitely getting the zester/grater, cookie scoop, egg separater and silicone mat. I didn’t even know an egg separater exists.

    • LOL – these definitely all help me out though I’m sure they’re not truly necessary. I hope they help you too! Watch out, Store – Lisa’s coming! 🙂

Leave a Comment

