Lemon Bars

Here’s another Spring recipe! When I think of Spring, I think LEMON! I guess because it has such a bright refreshing taste and looks like sunshine…which I’m in desperate need of.  I woke up to snow this morning, though not nearly as much as what was forecasted…but the day is not over yet.  Even though it’s melting fairly quickly, it looks like there’s more to come.

These lemon bars taste great.  They also look so pretty and would make a great addition to your Easter dessert table!

 

Lemon Bars

 

 

Lemon Bars
slightly adapted from the Quick and Easy Family Baking cookbook

Ingredients for the Crust
1 c butter (that’s 2 sticks)
2 c flour
1/2 c powdered sugar

Ingredients for the Filling
2 c sugar
6 T flour
4 eggs, lightly beaten
6 T lemon juice (from an actual lemon!)
1/2 t grated lemon peel (aka lemon zest)

More powdered sugar for dusting on top

What To Do
Preheat oven to 350°F.

Crust: Melt butter in a saucepan on the stove between low and medium heat.  Remove from heat once melted and add flour and powdered sugar.  Stir together until well combined.  Press the dough down evenly and firmly in a 9 x 13 pan.  Bake for 15 minutes.

Filling: Combine sugar, flour, eggs, lemon juice and lemon peel in a bowl.  Mix and pour over crust.  Bake for 20 minutes.

Cool completely then dust with powdered sugar.  Cut into bars and serve.

My Comments
You can lightly spray the pan ahead of time if you want, but the butter in the dough is sufficient – the bars won’t stick…at least I’ve never had them stick.

You’ll probably need 2 larger lemons to get 6 tablespoons of juice. You’ll get more juice if you first roll your lemon back and forth on the counter a few times – applying some pressure to it while you roll it. Also, using a citrus squeezer or juicer will get you a lot more than just squeezing with your hands.

I like to sift my flour for the filling to make sure there’s no little chunks.  I just dump it in a big wire mesh strainer after I measure it.

I use my small wire mesh stainer for dusting the powdered sugar on top.  FUN!

 

I suppose covering these bars in powdered sugar looks a lot like snow.  I guess the thing to remember is that after the snow comes luscious sunshine!

One thought on “Lemon Bars

Leave a Comment

