Homemade Scrubbies

I’m not much of a seamstress but I can make a mean scrubbie.  The funny thing is, I don’t even use them (the homemade ones, that is).  Growing up, we always made our own scrubbies to wash the dishes.  The “material” came from the stretchy net-like bags that various produce comes in…like oranges, lemons, and now I find that garlic comes in it too.  When I moved out, I abandoned the homemade scrubbie and used store-bought.  I didn’t have a sewing machine until I got married.  Even though I don’t use the homemade scrubbie anymore, one of my sisters still does and so I now make them for her.  There’s no sense in throwing those bags away – I’m sure they’re horrible for the environment and birds and other animals can get stuck in them.  Plus, they come in different colors, they do a great job when transformed into a brand new scrubbie, and you all know how I love reusing things!

 

I made some scrubbies this morning and decided to document it for you all to see.  Maybe you will want to try it too!

 

Here are the various bags I used – they must be the stretchy kind.

Scrubbie Material

 

Step 1: Cut off the end of the bag over a trash can.  I say that because sometimes when you cut it, little pieces of it go everywhere and it makes a mess.  I don’t like extra mess if I can help it.

Step 1

 

Step 2: Stretch out the material some and then fold it to the shape and size you want.  Well, I mean, I guess you can only choose between a square and a rectangle, but if you’re creative and patient, you can make a triangle!  No need to really pin it together or anything.  You can put the “raw” sides on the inside if you want, but I don’t think it really matters.  I don’t think it will unravel.

Step 3

folding the raw sides to the inside

100_5716

 

Step 3: Start sewing! You can do the “go straight for a few stitches and then go backwards and then forwards again” if you want, or you can just go and be sure you end up sewing over the beginning.  Does that make sense? You just don’t want your stitches to come undone.

100_5710

 

Step 4: Remember to have some fun with this! Make designs with your stitches.  Go crazy and let yourself go – these do not require any degree of perfection so have at it.  You just want to be sure to go around the edges so your scrubbie stays together.

100_5711

 

And there you have it! Homemade scrubbies!

100_5721

 

For those of you who don’t have sewing machines, I’m sorry.  Maybe you have a friend with a sewing machine? I heard someone say once that they put peanut butter in their bags then roll the bags in bird seed and then hang them up outside for the birdies.  I’m sure there are lots of other ways to reuse these stretchy net-like bags.

 

I sure am glad I’m giving these scrubbies away because then I don’t have to say, “Well, guess I should go wash some dishes now.”

4 thoughts on “Homemade Scrubbies

Leave a Comment

