Strawberry Lemonade Cupcakes

Happy Saturday! I hope your weekend is off to a great start!

Last week at this time, I was busy making these cupcakes for a baby shower.  The lemon and strawberry combination is so delicious.  I think these are perfect for any Spring celebration, whether it be a girl baby shower, brunch, Easter, Mother’s Day or whatever!

Strawberries will be in season soon and I highly recommend finding a u-pick farm near you or getting some from your farmer’s market (though u-pick is much cheaper and it’s so fun to pick your own!).  They freeze well – whole, sliced, mashed, pureed – so you can enjoy them all year round.  I promise to share some recipes using the super savory strawberry.

 

Strawberry Lemonade Cupcakes

 

Strawberry Lemonade Cupcakes
from The Brass Halo
makes 24 cupcakes

Ingredients for the Cupcakes
3 c all-purpose flour
2 T lemon zest
1/2 t baking powder
1 t salt
1.5 c unsalted butter, room temperature (that’s 3 sticks!)
2 c sugar
6 oz cream cheese, room temperature
6 eggs, room temperature (large size)
1 t vanilla extract
4 T lemon juice

Ingredients for the Frosting
1 c. frozen strawberries, thawed
2 c. unsalted butter, slightly cold (that’s 4 sticks!)
6 c powdered sugar
1 t vanilla extract
1/2 t salt

What To Do
Preheat oven to 325°F and line 2 12-well cupcake pans with cupcake liners.

Cupcakes: In a medium bowl, combine flour, zest, salt & baking powder and set aside.  In the the bowl of an electric mixer, cream the butter & sugar together, using medium-high speed.  Mix until light & fluffy.  Add the cream cheese, then reduce speed to low.  Add eggs, one at a time, mixing for about a minute per egg.  Next, add vanilla extract and lemon juice.  Continue mixing until combined.  Add in the dry ingredients in 3 batches, mixing after each addition.  Continue mixing until everything is just combined.  Fill the cupcake liners evenly with the batter.  Bake for about 25 minutes (until inserted toothpick comes out clean).  Transfer cupcakes to a wire rack to cool.

Frosting: Place berries in a food processor & blend into a purée.  In the the bowl of an electric mixer, cream butter & salt on medium until fluffy.  Reduce speed to low, add sugar slowly & continue to mix at medium-high speed.  Add vanilla & 6 Tbsp of the strawberry purée (save the rest for another use).  Continue to beat frosting until just blended & smooth (don’t over mix).

Give each cupcake a swirl of frosting.

My Comments
I don’t have 12-well cupcake pans so it made it a little hard for me to evenly divide the batter.  I baked a test cupcake to see how much batter to put in and it came out beautifully but when I made the rest, none of them turned out like the test one.  Hmmm….

I used my cookie scoop to fill the cupcake liners – no spills!

This is an insane amount of frosting!! The author of the Brass Halo website, where I got this recipe from, fortunately mentioned that, so I only made half the frosting recipe and after frosting all the cupcakes, I still had some leftover!

I used the large star tip for frosting the cupcakes.  I have no idea what number it is, sorry.

Be sure to wait until the cupcakes are completely cooled before frosting them.  I actually baked my cupcakes the night before, and then made the frosting and frosted them the morning of the baby shower.  I put them in the fridge overnight.

Be sure to serve these at room temperature! They are SO delicious!

You can store leftover cupcakes (if there is such a thing) in the fridge, but…and PLEASE trust me on this…wait to eat your cupcake until it gets to room temperature.  They’re okay cold, but why settle for “okay” when you could have it so much better?

 

Have a wonderful weekend!

2 thoughts on “Strawberry Lemonade Cupcakes

  1. Teri says:

    Matt’s comment and hashtags made me laugh out loud!
    If I was a kid those are the cupcakes I would want at my teddy bear tea party!

Leave a Comment

