Thankful Thursday

I’ve started reading the book, “One Thousand Gifts” by Ann Voskamp.  It’s about a lot of things but so far, this is what I’ve gotten out of it:

One Thousand Gifts

It’s about living fully right where you are.  It’s about living in gratitude rather than in longing.  It’s about how looking for, and naming, and being thankful for God’s gifts throughout your day can change your life.  It’s about finding joy through giving thanks, even in the midst of difficult times.

 

I’m about in the middle of the book.  I don’t want to give too much away, but one of the author’s friends dared her to make a list of 1,000 things she loves, 1,000 blessings, 1,000 gifts.  She writes about her journey and how making this list changed her perspective and drew her closer to God and her family and how true joy started to replace her sadness.  She learned to live more fully, right where she was.

 

I think I would benefit from something similar, and maybe you would too, so I hereby declare Thursdays as Thankful Thursdays.  I plan on taking some time each Thursday to think of some things from the week that I love and consider blessings and gifts and I’m going to write them here.  I hope you join me in this exercise of gratitude! We can encourage each other and delight in each other’s gifts.  Feel free to share as many as you want.

 

Okay – here goes:

1 – friends and family who congratulated me and helped me celebrate a new job

2 – magnolia trees in bloom – so pretty!

3 – talking to my friend and neighbor while working in the yard

4 – warm weather that allowed me to work in the yard

5 – homemade blackberry jam from a friend to put on homemade banana bread

4 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday

  1. Connie Aldrich says:

    I read it and have my thank you book. I also used it at my church. My kids at church have a book as well as alot o the adults. Its great to be reminded daily that these are all gifts from God not rights!

  2. Teri says:

    The seeds that are sprouting on my windowsill that get a little bigger and more robust every day.
    My umbrella that kept me dry on the way to a morning meeting today.
    Coffee, it’s always there for me when I need it.
    Raindrops on branches that are budding out on the Japanese Maple outside the screen door.
    Clean sheets and pajamas.

  3. My wife 🙂 A few others – good fresh brewed coffee in the morning, softball on a nice day, david sedaris books (new one out this month :), and a friendly pet to while away the hours with (not to be confused with wile away the hours, which apparently is a little more devious 🙂

  4. Allison says:

    Great idea!
    1. My sister’s blog which gives me something new and fun to look forward to every few days.
    2. Friends and family who are supporting me in prayer and encouragement with my current job situation/transition.
    3. My upstairs neighbor’s dryer that is usually annoying and sounds like a helicopter is landing on my bedroom ceiling – it was still annoying and loud this morning but it woke me up just after 11 which was good – that it woke me up. I had an 11 AM meeting to attend. I did not sleep well last night with the thunderstorms – only got a few hours of sleep and didn’t really fall asleep soundly until about 6 AM so the next 5 hours I must’ve been out cold.
    4. I feel bad for the problems that flooding is causing this morning but I enjoy the thunderstorms when they are happening as long as I am not getting struck by lightning (and they are not keeping me up all night) – they remind me of the presence and power of God.
    5. A few great finds at a semi-annual clothing sale yesterday. I was amazed I found things that actually fit me, look good on me, and were super cheap!

Leave a Comment

