Rollout Sugar Cookies

This is my favorite sugar cookie recipe.  It’s so fun to cut out different shapes for different holidays or events.  I was very blessed, one year, to receive a container of 100 cookie cutters for Christmas.  I think I’m set for whatever occasion should arise!  Although we are still having April Showers, there are some May flowers around and I just happen to have a picture of some sugar cookies that I made last year for May Flower Season.

 

May Flower Sugar Cookies

 

Rollout Sugar Cookies
from King Arthur Flour

Ingredients
3 1/2 c unbleached all-purpose flour
1 1/2 t baking powder
1/2 t baking soda
3/4 t salt
1 c unsalted butter, room temperature (that’s 2 sticks)
1 1/4 c sugar
1/4 c cream cheese (that’s 2 oz – you’ll want this to also be at room temperature)
1 t vanilla extract
1/4 t almond extract
1 large egg, room temperature

What To Do
Preheat the oven to 375°F. Lightly grease two baking sheets, or line with parchment (I love using silicone baking mats!).

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

In a large bowl, cream together the butter, sugar, and cream cheese until light and fluffy.

Beat in the vanilla and almond extracts, and the egg; scrape the sides and bottom of the bowl.

Add the flour mixture, and mix at low to medium speed until the mixture is evenly moistened.

Place the dough in a plastic bag (or plastic wrap), flatten it into a disk, and chill for 1 hour before rolling it out and cutting.

Place on the prepared baking sheets, leaving 2″ between them.

Bake for 8 minutes, until golden brown at the edges.

Remove from the oven and cool on the pan for 5 minutes, before transferring to a rack to finish cooling completely.

Decorate however you want after the cookies have cooled.  If you want sprinkles directly on the cookies, you need to put those on before you bake them.

My Comments
How much should you flatten the dough disk before chilling it? From what I’ve heard, about 3/4″ thick.

I usually make my dough ahead of time, so put it in a plastic container, overnight, instead of plastic wrap. Then I can also put that in the freezer if I have any leftover dough.

Be sure and dust your surface with flour before you put the dough on it to roll it out.  I only roll out a little at a time, leaving the unused dough in the fridge to stay cool.  You’ll want to flour your rolling pin too.  Just keep a little bowl of flour handy – you’ll need more.

I roll my dough out to be 1/4″ thick.  To do this, I have two dowel rods that are 1/4″ in diameter and I tape them to the counter, put the dough in the middle and then roll out the dough.  The rolling pin rests on the dowel rods so the dough will be evenly pressed.  Yes, this makes me very happy.

I bake mine at 350°F.  375°F is way too hot in my oven for cookies.  I do bake them for 8-9 minutes until the edges just start to turn brown.  Every oven is different so I recommend testing out one or two cookies before putting a whole tray in.

 

Here are some more sugar cookie photos from previous holidays:

Easter Eggs

Easter Egg Sugar Cookies

More Easter Eggs

More Easter Egg Sugar Cookies

Valentine’s Day

Valentine's Heart Sugar Cookies

Christmas Cookie Decorating Party

Christmas Sugar Cookies

3 thoughts on “Rollout Sugar Cookies

  1. Where are the cookies ideas for Sun Screen Day (May 27th), Tap Dance Day (May 25th), International Jazz Day (also May 25th), National Escargot Day (May 24th), National Memo Day (May 21st), Be a Millionaire Day (May 20th), No Dirty Dishes Day (May 18th), National Sea Monkey Day (May 16th), Fatigue Syndrome Day (May 12th), Twilight Zone Day (May 11th), Eat What You Want Day (also May 11th), National Candied Orange Peel Day (May 4th), International Tuba Day (First Friday in May), and National Complain About People Not Celebrating Obscure Holidays with Cookies Day (May 32nd)?!?!!?!?! This is outrageous, I’m calling for a 30 second boycott of this blog in protest!

    • Allison says:

      And let’s not forget Lumpy Rug Day (May 3), No Socks Day (May 8), Lost Sock Memorial Day (May 9), Clean Up Your Room Day (May 10) — I think I see a theme here — Nat’l Dance Like A Chicken Day (May 14), Frog Jumping Jubilee Day (May 19), End Of The Middle Ages Day (May 29) and last but certainly not least My Bucket’s Got A Hole In it Day (May 30).

      • How could I have forgotten about End of the Middle Ages Day, Estonia’s greatest contribution to the world ever (remember the Battle of Grunwald)!!

Leave a Comment

