White Chocolate Strawberry Blondies

Oh my goodness! Strawberry Week here at Thirty Seconds on High is more than half over already! I hope you are enjoying this week of strawberry goodness as much as I am!

Here’s a great twist on the traditional brownie: a blondie! With fresh strawberries!

 

White Chocolate Strawberry Blondies

 

White Chocolate Strawberry Blondies
from Love and Olive Oil

Ingredients
5 oz white chocolate, chopped
1/3 c unsalted butter, cut into pieces
2/3 c granulated sugar
2 eggs (room temperature)
1 t vanilla extract
1 c all-purpose flour
1/4 t baking powder
1/4 t salt
1 c strawberries, hulled and halved

What To Do
Preheat oven to 350ºF. Line the bottom and sides of an 8×8 baking pan with parchment paper, leaving a slight overhang (this will help the blondies come out of the pan later). Butter parchment.

In a double boiler or a bowl set over (but not touching) a pot of gently simmering water, melt chocolate and butter, stirring constantly, until smooth. Remove from heat and stir in sugar. At this point your batter should have cooled slightly to just above room temperature; it may appear to separate, that’s ok.

Whisk in eggs and vanilla until smooth. Add flour, baking powder, and salt and stir until just incorporated and no dry flour remains. Fold in strawberries. Pour into prepared pan.

Bake for 25 to 30 minutes or until top is lightly golden and a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. Place pan on a wire rack and cool completely.

Use the parchment paper to lift the bars out of the pan, then cut into 2-inch squares. Blondies can be stored in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to three days.

My Comments
I lined my pan with foil and sprayed it…works great!

I use white chocolate chips and it turns out fine.  I know it’s not the same as “real” white chocolate, but it works.

I do not use a double boiler for melting the butter and white chocolate chips together.  I melt the butter first (in a pot on the stove) and then add the chips and stir until smooth.  This time, I started out stirring with a rubber spatula and then traded it for a whisk to get it really smooth.

I love that these can be made in one pot.  Instead of a one pot supper, you’ve got a one pot dessert.

Okay…when I made this for this post, it took “forever” to bake! I started out with 25 minutes on the timer.  I lost count of how many times I added 5 more minutes.  I know it was more than 3 times but I seriously lost track.  So…just know that this might take longer than 25 – 30 minutes.  I have made these before and I don’t remember it taking so long…Anyway, if it does take longer and you’re afraid the top will get too golden brown, just tent some foil on top to protect it.

Leave a Comment

