Basil and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breast

Happy Friday!

Here’s a little something I whipped up the other night.  It was my first time and it was a little messy but it turned out delicious so I decided to share.  Sharing is caring, right?

 

Basil and Mozz Stuffed Chicken Breast

 

Basil and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breast
inspired by Two Peas & Their Pod

Ingredients
1/4 c bread crumbs (I used homemade)
1/2 t Italian seasoning
1 egg, slightly beaten
basil leaves (about a cup – depends on how big your chicken breast is)
shredded mozzarella (um…about a 1/2 cup? I just put a bunch on)
1 skinless, boneless chicken breast

What To Do
Preheat oven (or in my case, I used our toaster oven, since it was just one piece of chicken) to 350°F.  Line baking sheet with foil and spray with non-stick spray.

Mix the bread crumbs and Italian seasoning in a shallow bowl.

Put the egg in another shallow bowl – lightly beat it with a fork.

Beat your chicken breast until it’s flat.  To do this, I put it on a big cutting board, covered it with plastic wrap, then pounded it out with a mallet.  I suppose you could use a can of veggies or a rolling pin too.  How thin? Well, mine ended up a little too thin, but I was aiming for 1/4-inch.

After it’s pounded out, remove plastic wrap and cover with basil and shredded mozzarella.

Then carefully roll it up and secure with toothpicks.

Now, roll it in the egg and then roll in in the bread crumb mixture.  There was no way I could actually do this since my chicken was too flat so I ended up enlisting Matt’s help and we poured the egg onto the chicken roll-up and then poured the bread crumbs on top.  Then I put that side down on the baking sheet and repeated with the other side.  Like I said, a little messy…

Bake for about 45 minutes until the chicken is not pink in the center and is golden brown on the outside.  Remove the toothpicks when it has cooled down a bit.

Slice and serve!

My Comments
This turned out well.  I sliced some and put it on a bed of leftover wild rice for lunch and it was delicious! I’m taking more slices today for lunch with leftover mac-n-cheese.

Next time, I’ll add some grated parmesan cheese to the bread crumb mixture.

I think maybe some oven-roasted cherry tomatoes or sun-dried tomatoes would go nicely somewhere in this recipe.

 

It’s fun to experiment and I didn’t have everything to make the original recipe so I decided to improvise a bit and it turned out great.   I’m so glad I was able to use some of the basil from my garden too!

Have a great weekend!

One thought on “Basil and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breast

Leave a Comment

