Skillet Parmesan Zucchini

So when I went to the farmer’s market this past Saturday I found the cutest little zucchini! The first ones of the year and I just couldn’t pass them up especially since I’m not growing them in my garden this year, due to past issues with vine borers.  Anyway, I made this dish Monday night and thoroughly enjoyed it.  I love it because it’s easy and fairly quick and very delicious!

 

Step 1: Spray a nonstick skillet and add peppers and onions.  Cook for about 5 minutes.

 

Step 1

 

Step 2: Add zucchini.  Cook for 2 minutes.

 

Step 2

 

Step 3: Stir in sauce and cover.  Cook about 8 minutes, stirring occasionally.

 

Step 3

 

Step 4: Sprinkle with cheese, cover until melted.

 

Step 4

 

Step 5: Remove lid.

 

Step 5

 

Step 6: Enjoy!

 

Skillet Parmesan Zucchini

 

Skillet Parmesan Zucchini
from KraftFoods.com

Ingredients
1 small red pepper, chopped
1 small onion, chopped
4 small zucchini (1 lb), thinly sliced
1/2 c spaghetti sauce
3/4 c shredded mozzarella cheese
2 T grated parmesan cheese

What To Do
Cook and stir peppers and onions in large nonstick skillet sprayed with cooking spray on medium heat for 5 minutes.  Add zucchini; cook and stir 2 minutes.

Stir in spaghetti sauce; cover.  Cook 8 minutes or until vegetables are crisp-tender, stirring occasionally.

Sprinkle with cheeses; cook, covered, 1 minute or until mozzarella is melted.

My Comments
I use whatever color of pepper I have handy – this time I used green, as seen in the photo.

I usually use more sauce – but that’s just because I like a lot of sauce.

When I add the cheeses, I turn the heat off because it’s plenty hot and the cheese just needs to melt, which it does pretty quickly.

 

This is a great way to cook zucchini! This time we ate ours as a side dish to a rotisserie chicken but we’ve also eaten it as the main dish too.

2 thoughts on “Skillet Parmesan Zucchini

Leave a Comment

