Lemony Green Beans

So yes, I made the title of this dish up.  I have no idea where I got the recipe from – it’s been in my recipe box for a long time (with just the title of “green beans”), on a piece of scrap paper from my Loaded Questions game.  It’s interesting to read the answers from the game written on the back and I’m 95% sure I know whose handwriting it is…

Anyway, I got some wonderful green beans from the farmer’s market and decided to fix this quick dish to go with some Baked Tilapia.  The beans cooked up while the fish was in the oven.  Ah…efficiency at its finest…

 

lemony green beans

 

Lemony Green Beans

Ingredients
1 T olive oil
1 T butter
1 lb green beans, trimmed
salt and pepper to taste
1 T lemon juice

What To Do
Heat oil and butter over medium heat on the stove.  Add green beans.  Season with salt and pepper.  Cover and cook, tossing occasionally until crisp tender, 5 – 8 minutes.  Stir in lemon juice and serve immediately.

 

Simple.  Easy.  A great way to showcase fresh green beans from the farm or your garden.  YUM.

3 thoughts on “Lemony Green Beans

  1. Teri says:

    I almost bought fresh green beans but didn’t know how to prepare them so I skipped them. Now I wish I’d gotten some. I’ll definitely try this. 🙂

Leave a Comment

