Peach & Blackberry Upside-Down Cake

One of my favorite things about summer: fresh fruit.  Yesterday I went to the Farmer’s Market and got some peaches from my favorite peach vendor (they’re actually from my hometown) and since I still have blackberries that Matt & I picked, I decided to combine the two into something delicious.  I’m going to put this in the “dessert” category, but you better believe that I’m going to be eating this for breakfast tomorrow!

 

Peach & Blackberry Upside-down cake

 

Peach & Blackberry Upside-Down Cake
inspired by the Pineapple-Upside Down Cake recipe in The King Arthur Flour Baker’s Companion

Ingredients
5 T butter
1/2 c packed dark brown sugar
fresh peaches, peeled and sliced (maybe 2 or 3, depending on size)
a handful of fresh blackberries
a handful of pecan pieces
1 c unbleached all-purpose flour, sifted
1/2 t baking powder
1/2 t salt
1/3 c orange juice
1.5 t vanilla extract
2 large eggs, room temperature
2/3 c sugar

What To Do
Preheat oven to 350°F.

Melt the butter in a 10″ skillet or heavy 10″ round cake pan.  (I used a 9″ spring form pan).  Sprinkle brown sugar evenly over the butter and place peach slices on top.  Arrange blackberries and pecans however you like.  Here’s how mine looked:

 

arrange fruit

 

Sift the flour, baking powder and salt together; set the mixture aside.  Combine the juice and vanilla and set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, beat the eggs until they’re thick and lemon-colored and the beaters leave tracks as they travel through them.  With beaters/mixer still running, gradually sprinkle in the sugar.  Add the juice, then slow down the beaters/mixer.  Add sifted dry ingredients all at once and beat on medium speed for 1 minute.

Pour the batter over the prepared fruit in the cake pan.  Bake the cake for 45 minutes, until its center springs back when touched lightly and it’s just barely starting to pull away form the edge of the pan.  Remove it from the oven and place a serving plate over the cake pan.  While keeping a firm grip on both, flip the pan over and place the plate and cake on a cooling rack.  Leave the pan on top for 5 minutes while the hot topping drips back down over the cake.  After 5 minutes, remove the pan and rearrange any fruit that has shifted.

My Comments
This is my second time making this.  Last time I used dried cranberries instead of blackberries.  Of course, you can just use peaches if you don’t like/want anything else.

I love this served warm with a little whipped cream on top.  A little dollop of ice cream would be good too.

 

I can’t believe it is August!! I hope you are enjoying your summer.  I enjoy mine more when I have tasty summer treats to devour! 🙂

One thought on “Peach & Blackberry Upside-Down Cake

Leave a Comment

