S’mores Pie

Today has been a busy day and the fun’s not over yet.  I got up early to make this S’mores Pie for my work’s company picnic.  They were having a Bake-Off and since I love to bake, I had signed up.  Now, I don’t really recommend making something for the first time for a contest, but this time it worked.  I WON!!! I didn’t even get to try this pie – it was gone in no time – but since it won, I know it had to be good.  So here it is for you.  It’s a great alternative if you can’t have a real s’more.

 

S'mores Pie

 

S’mores Pie
from Tasty Kitchen

Ingredients
1 stick softened butter
½ cup sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup flour
1 cup graham cracker crumbs
1 teaspoon baking powder
7 ounce container of marshmallow creme
8 whole (1.55 oz bars) Hershey’s chocolate bars
1 cup miniature marshmallows
¼ cup chocolate chips (I used semi-sweet)

What To Do
Preheat oven to 350°F and spray a 9″ pie pan with baking spray.

In a large bowl beat butter and sugar together until combined, then add egg and vanilla and stir them in. Stir in flour, graham cracker crumbs and baking powder.

Divide the dough in half. Press half the dough in the bottom and up the sides of the prepared pie pan. Evenly spread the marshmallow creme over the bottom crust. Separate chocolate rectangles and place on top of the marshmallow creme. Place miniature marshmallows on top of the chocolate bar pieces.

Using the remaining crust, pat sections of dough on top of and around all the marshmallows (they will still show through and that is great!). Sprinkle with 1/4 cup chocolate chips, then bake 20 minutes until lightly browned.

Remove pan from oven and set it on a wire rack. Cool completely before cutting.

My Comments
I found it easiest to spread the crust dough with my hands.  It was quite sticky trying to use a rubber spatula.

Not all the chocolate will fit in one layer on top of the marshmallow creme.  You could probably get away with using just 6 chocolate bars, especially since you can buy them in a 6-pack.

 

It turns out that today is National S’mores Day! A friend told me this morning after she heard it on the news.  How awesome is that! I hope you are having a good weekend.  I gotta go get ready for “s’more” fun now.

7 thoughts on “S’mores Pie

Leave a Comment

