Crock Pot Pasta Sauce

Garden tomatoes are finally ripening! If you’ve got a bumper crop, here’s a great way to use some up.  I did this for the first time on Sunday and it turned out great!

 

Crock Pot Pasta Sauce

 

Crock Pot Pasta Sauce
from the Pillsbury Savvy Shopper’s Cookbook

Ingredients
1 lb lean ground beef
1/2 lb bulk Italian pork sausage (I used mild)
1 medium onion, chopped (1/2 cup)
1 medium bell pepper (any color), chopped (1 cup)
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
2 medium carrots, finely chopped (1 cup)
1 can (28 oz) crushed tomatoes, undrained (I used fresh tomatoes from the garden)
1 can (8 oz) tomato sauce
1 can (6 oz) tomato paste
1 T packed brown sugar
3 t Italian seasoning
1/2 t salt
1/4 t pepper

What To Do
Cook beef and sausage over medium heat on the stove for 8 – 10 minutes until thoroughly cooked.  Drain.  (I spread it out on paper towels to soak up extra grease).

Spray a 3.5 – 4-quart slow cooker with cooking spray.  In cooker, mix beef mixture and all remaining ingredients.

Cover and cook on low heat for 8 – 10 hours.

My Comments
I think you can use whatever veggies you like.  I added some chopped mushrooms!

I dipped my garden tomatoes in boiling water for about a minute so the peels came right off (be sure to let them cool down some before handling) and then crushed them using my handy potato masher.  Fun times!

You can freeze this sauce for later use.

 

Enjoy!

 

Crock Pot Pasta Sauce

 

 

4 thoughts on “Crock Pot Pasta Sauce

  1. Matt says:

    Very tasty (better than any of the store bought brands I’ve tried) and makes a ton (which is good if you have space in the freezer, not so good if you don’t…)

Leave a Comment

