Apple Cinnamon Roll Pie

It’s now September and that means it’s time for Apple-y Goodness! Be on the lookout for apple-related posts throughout this month.

Matt’s dad gave us a bunch of tart little apples not too long ago and Matt & I hosted a cookout yesterday so I decided to make this pie for dessert.  The first time I ate this pie, it was called a Breakfast Pie, but really, it’s so good you’ll want it for breakfast, lunch and dinner!

 

Apple Cinnamon Roll Pie

 

Apple Cinnamon Roll Pie
from friend, A.L.

Ingredients
Crumb Topping
1 c all purpose flour
1 c packed brown sugar
1/2 c butter, softened

Crust
1 can (12.4oz) refrigerated cinnamon rolls with icing

Filling
6 medium Granny Smith apples, thinly sliced
3/4 c granulated sugar
2 T flour
2 T lemon juice
cinnamon to taste

What To Do
Heat oven to 375°F. In medium bowl, mix crumb topping ingredients with fork until large clumps form. Refrigerate. Remove icing from can of rolls into small microwavable bowl, cover and refrigerate.

Lightly flour rolling pin and work surface. Separate dough into 8 rolls. With rolling pin, roll each cinnamon roll, cinnamon side up, into 4-5 inch rounds.

In an ungreased 9-inch pie plate, place 1 dough round in center, arrange remaining 7 dough rounds and around center round and up side of plate. Press dough to seal together in bottom and sides of pan.

 

IMG_7203 (640x427)

 

In large bowl, gently mix filling ingredients. Spoon filling into cinnamon roll-lined plate.

 

IMG_7206 (640x427)

 

Sprinkle crumb topping over top to completely cover filling.

 

IMG_7207 (640x427)

 

Bake 1 hour or until top is golden brown.

 

IMG_7209 (640x427)

 

Before serving, microwave icing until runny enough to drizzle on top (about half of 30 seconds on high – haha).

My Comments
I started out using a mini rolling pin to flatten the cinnamon rolls but ended up just smashing them with my hands.  It was much easier.  I just got out a piece of parchment paper and smashed one at a time and then put it in the pie plate.  Didn’t need to use flour either, using this method.

It doesn’t say to, but I peeled my apples before slicing them.

I used a 9.5″ pie plate and it worked just fine.

Be sure and put the pie on a baking sheet before baking! I’m so glad I did because mine definitely bubbled over!

I baked mine at 350°F for one hour.

 

We did have just a little leftover pie and I did eat it for breakfast this morning with some hot tea.  It’s so comforting and I really love that I could just smash the crust into existence.  Happy apple season to you!

4 thoughts on “Apple Cinnamon Roll Pie

Leave a Comment

