Bruschetta-Style Tortellini Salad

I’m not really a huge salad fan but when it’s hot out (and it’s finally hot out!) and you don’t want to have your oven on or just want something a bit lighter to eat, salads are the perfect solution.  I like this salad because it is tasty, I could use a couple things from my garden and it fills me up.

 

Bruschette-Style Tortellini Salad

 

Bruschetta-Style Tortellini Salad
from the Pillsbury Savvy Shopper’s Cookbook

Ingredients
1 pkg (20 oz) refrigerated cheese-filled tortellini
1 can (14.5 oz) diced tomatoes, drained, juice reserved (I diced up tomatoes from my garden)
1/4 c chopped fresh basil leaves (also from the garden – hooray!)
2 T olive oil
1 clove garlic, finely chopped
2 c sliced fresh mushrooms
1 c cubed mozzarella cheese
1/2 medium red onion, chopped (1/2 c)
1 can (2 1/4 oz) sliced ripe olives, drained
1/2 pkg (3.5 oz size) sliced pepperoni, cut in half

What To Do
Cook and drain tortellini as directed on package.  Rinse with cold water to cool; drain.

In a large bowl, toss tortellini with all of the remaining ingredients, including the reserved tomato juice.

Cover and refrigerate at least 1 hour but no longer than 4 hours before serving.

My Comments
For the garlic, I put mine through the garlic press/mincer.

I don’t know if this is true…but I think it is – it’s cheaper to buy a brick of cheese and cube it yourself, rather than buying it pre-cubed.  I’m pretty sure it’s true and that’s why I do it but I haven’t really looked at prices in a while.  I just assume it’s cheaper.

I left out the red onion.

I’m not sure what happens after 4 hours of refrigeration.  We had some leftover and it did not spontaneously combust or turn into a pumpkin after 4 hours in the fridge.  Hmmm…..

 

Have a great week!

Leave a Comment

