Glazed Pork Chops with Apples

Here’s a simple and delicious fall dish.  Pork chops and apples go great together! Serve with stuffing or rice or whatever you like and you’ve got yourself a great meal.

 

Pork Chop & Apple

 

Glazed Pork Chops with Apples
not sure where I got this recipe – I’ve had it for several years

Ingredients
2 t vegetable oil
1 lb pork chops (4 thin chops, 1/2″ thick, trimmed)
2 large granny smith apples
1 6-oz can unsweetened frozen apple juice concentrate
2 t dijon mustard
1/4 t salt
1/8 t pepper

What To Do
Heat oil in medium skillet over medium heat.  Add chops; cook, turning occasionally, until cooked through, 8 – 10 minutes.  Transfer to warm platter.

Pare, core and cut apples crosswise into rings about 1/4″ thick.

After chops are removed from skillet, add apple rings and cook 2 – 3 minutes or until lightly browned.

Add apple juice concentrate and bring to a boil.

Stir in mustard, salt and pepper.  Spoon over pork chops.

My Comments
I use olive oil instead of vegetable oil.

I just pick out good looking pork chops with no bones – I don’t worry too much about how thick they are.

I can’t find any 6-oz cans of frozen apple juice concentrate, only 12-oz, so I just freeze the other half in a jar to use later.

I thaw the apple juice concentrate before putting it in the skillet.

As you can see in my photo, my apples are not cut into rings.

The dijon mustard is great in this – I don’t measure this, just squirt some on and the flavor is great – don’t use normal mustard!

 

This is pretty quick to put together and tastes great.  I hope you “fall” in love with this recipe as I have – it’s a go to recipe in my book!

 

4 thoughts on “Glazed Pork Chops with Apples

Leave a Comment

