Pear Crumble

It wasn’t until a few years ago that I started cooking/baking with pears.  Matt and I had gone to my hometown for “the best festival ever” and had the opportunity to pick pears at a friend’s place.  They were huge, the trees were loaded and of course, I picked as many as I could reach because once you start, it’s really hard to stop.  Oh here’s another one.  Oh, there’s one – get it! Anyway, when we got back, I had to then figure out what to do with all the gorgeous pears that I’d never done anything with before.  I found out they were Kieffer pears and that they were ripe when they began to turn yellow.

The first thing I made was this Pear Crumble.  Suffice it to say that the next year and every year since, I have stopped by to visit and pick pears!  I look forward to it every year.

 

pear crumble

 

Pear Crumble
from the King Arthur Flour’s Baker’s Companion

Ingredients
Topping
1 c pecan pieces
3/4 c unbleached all-purpose flour
1 t cinnamon
1/4 c light brown sugar, packed
1/2 c thick oat flakes (old-fashioned rolled oats)
1/4 c unsalted butter

Filling
8 Bartlett or Anjou pears, peeled, cored and sliced (about 8 cups of fruit)
1/2 c light brown sugar, packed
1 T fresh lemon juice, or 1/4 t lemon oil
1/4 c unbleached all-purpose flour
1/2 t cinnamon

What To Do
Preheat the oven to 400°F.  Grease a 9×13-inch baking pan.

Topping: Toast the pecan pieces in the oven for 5 – 10 minutes, or until lightly browned and aromatic.  Let the pieces cool, then combine them with the flour, cinnamon, brown sugar and oats.  Cut in the butter until the mixture forms coarse crumbs, about the size of peas.

Filling: Mix the pears with the sugar, lemon juice, flour and cinnamon.  Pour the filling into the prepared baking pan and sprinkle topping over it.

Bake the crumble for 30-40 minutes, or until the topping has become golden brown and crunchy and the fruit is bubbly.

My Comments
Of course, I don’t use Bartlett or Anjou pears…and it turns out just fine!

I usually make half the recipe in an 8×8-inch pan.

For the topping, I usually add the pecans at the end, after the butter is cut in.  I just think it’s easier.

If you like a lot of filling you can make the full recipe for filling and then half the topping.

When baking, sometimes the pecan pieces get a little “done” so I then tent some foil over it so the pears continue to bake but the top doesn’t burn.

 

This crumble is delicious! I love eating it warm and sometimes add a little scoop of vanilla ice cream…and if I have it, a drizzle of caramel sauce.  This is a great fall dessert (or in my case…breakfast…)! 🙂

Have a great weekend!

One thought on “Pear Crumble

Leave a Comment

