Goodbye, Garden

Sniff, sniff…the saddest time of year is when it’s time to undo the garden.  The threat of frost is just a night or two away and to be honest, my plants need to be put out of their misery.  Poor, poor plants.  It’s time.

As I look back, I realize didn’t post very many garden pictures, so here’s a little collage:

 

garden collage 2013

 

For a while, the garden was comically jungle-like and out of control.  Then squash bugs decided to make themselves at home and I’ve decided they are not very nice neighbors.  Thankfully I got to pick several butternut squash before the plants completely withered away.  I only saw one tomato worm and there was no problem with bottom/blossom end rot this year.  I was able to share lots of cherry tomatoes and put up lots of roma and normal tomatoes for winter use in soups like Roasted Tomato Basil.  Matt got a serrano pepper plant for free and it produced quite a bit – my bell peppers did nothing! My herbs did really well despite the squirrels wreaking havoc among them.

 

All in all, I think it was a good garden year.

 

So, to prepare for winter, it really is best to pull everything up.  If you have any green tomatoes, you can pick them and they will eventually ripen.  I always set mine in a tray by a sunny window.  I’ve never tried it, but you could also make fried green tomatoes.  I’m going to leave the rosemary and thyme in the ground.  I’ve always had them both in pots and would put them in the garage for the winter but this year I decided to put them in the ground so we’ll see if they survive.  My oregano is in a pot so I’m going to trim it and put it in the garage for the winter, as usual.  If you have any basil left in the ground, you can put it in a pot and bring it in and it should last quite a while.  Last year mine lasted almost all winter long in my living room, but not not quite.  For anything you’re bringing into your house, you should clean off the plants as well as you can so you don’t bring any unwanted guests into your home.

If you’ve been composting throughout the summer, I believe that now is a good time to mix it all in to your garden plot.

If you haven’t already done so, you might want to draw a little picture of what plants were where in your garden.  I like to do this because I don’t like to plant the same plants in the same place every year.  It may not be a huge deal, but just one of those things I do.

 

Did you garden this year? How did it go for you? What did you learn? What are you looking forward to next year? I hope you enjoyed your experience.

 

Here’s to winding down one season and moving on to the next.  Happy Fall, y’all!

IMG_7753 (640x427)

Leave a Comment

