Black Bean and Sweet Potato Salad

Woo Hoo! I never thought I’d be saying “woo hoo” when it’s cold and windy out.  BUT…there are sweet potatoes galore at the farmer’s market and that means good eatin’ is just a chop and a stir away.

Take this Black Bean and Sweet Potato Salad, for instance.  It’s so delicious and goes so really well with any pork dish, like a roasted pork loin or pork chops cooked on the stove.  The first time I made this salad I was blown away at how good it was.  I really hope you try it out while sweet potatoes are plentiful and readily available from your friendly local farmer.

 

black bean and sweet potato salad

 

Black Bean and Sweet Potato Salad
from Martha Stewart

Ingredients
4 T vegetable oil
coarse salt and ground pepper
2 medium sweet potatoes (about 1 lb total), peeled and cut into 3/4″ cubes
1/4 t red pepper flakes (optional)
2 T fresh lime juice (from 1 lime)
1 can (14.5 oz) black beans, rinsed and drained
1/2 medium red onion, finely chopped
1/2 c chopped fresh cilantro (optional)

What To Do
Preheat oven to 450°F.

Place sweet potatoes on a rimmed baking sheet; drizzle with 2 tablespoons oil. Season with red-pepper flakes (if using), salt, and pepper; toss to coat. Roast on lower rack, until tender, tossing once during cooking, 25 to 35 minutes.

In a large bowl, whisk lime juice with remaining 2 tablespoons oil; season with salt and pepper. Add sweet potatoes, beans, onion, and, if using, cilantro; mix gently to combine.

My Comments
I leave the red pepper flakes out.

I definitely put the cilantro in – it adds such a great flavor.  I don’t recommend leaving it out.  If you have to buy cilantro from the store, here’s a TIP I posted a while ago on how to store cilantro to make it last.

I’ve made this with canned black beans and also with black beans I cooked myself.  I know canned beans are much more convenient but if you have time, try cooking your own beans (directions should be on the bag).  The salad tastes great either way but it tasted even better using raw beans that I cooked myself.

 

So there you have it.  A great tasting salad that’s also great for you.  How sweet is that?

Leave a Comment

