Pumpkin Pie Spice

Okay, so before I begin, I just have to share this with you.  As I sat down to write all about how awesome it is to make your own Pumpkin Pie Spice, I looked out the window and there’s this squirrel eating the patio chair cover…

 

IMG_8057 (640x427)

 

REALLY??? Between the squirrels and the wind, that cover has no chance…I’ve watched the squirrels tear the bark off the tree in the back yard.  They are an industrious bunch!

 

Sigh…

 

Anyway.  Did you all survive Halloween? Did you have tons of trick-or-treaters? This morning I realized that I completely missed the Charlie Brown Great Pumpkin show! How can this be? I watch it EVERY year.  Was it even on this year? I didn’t see any commercials for it and it never crossed my mind until today.  My Halloween is not complete.

Even though I missed The Great Pumpkin, I did get to make this great Pumpkin Pie Spice.  If you are like me, you don’t like buying a jar of spice that you only need a little bit of a few times a year.  I came across this recipe last year and I absolutely love it.  I love that I already had the ingredients in my pantry and of course I love that this saves money and reduces waste.  I wish you could smell the photo.  It smells so good!

 

Pumpkin Pie Spice

 

Pumpkin Pie Spice
from My Baking Addiction

Ingredients
3 T ground cinnamon
2 t ground ginger
2 t nutmeg
1.5 t ground allspice
1.5 t ground cloves

What To Do
Combine spices in a small bowl.  Mix well to combine. Store in a small jar or spice container.

 

I love that this is so easy and if you are missing any ingredients, consider throwing a “make your own pumpkin pie spice” party! Each person could bring one ingredient.  If that’s not an option and you don’t want to buy a whole jar of any one ingredient, try going to a store where you can buy spices in bulk.  That way you can buy as much (or as little) as you want!

There are lots of great fall recipes that call for pumpkin pie spice so if you ended up missing The Great Pumpkin on TV, just like I did, you can still enjoy some great pumpkin goodness…in your belly.

One thought on “Pumpkin Pie Spice

  1. Matt says:

    Ah, the classic Charlie Brown cartoons… is it too late to get the abominations that are the new Charlie Brown cartoons taken off the air before a new generation of kids grows up thinking Charlie Brown stinks?

Leave a Comment

