Green Beans with Balsamic Butter

“Soon” is a relative term.  Way back (or not so way back) in April, when I posted the Flourless Honey-Almond Cake I made for family, I said I would post these green beans “soon.”  Well, so sorry for the delay but better late than never, right? I like to think this is just in time for Thanksgiving.  Don’t get me wrong, I love the traditional green bean casserole but sometimes I want something different!

Green Beans with Balsamic Butter

Green Beans with Balsamic Butter
from Our Best Bites
serves about 8

Ingredients
2 pounds fresh green beans, trimmed
1/4 cup salted butter
1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
3 green onions, chopped (the entire thing)
2 cloves garlic, minced

What To Do
Combine the onions, garlic, and vinegar in a small saucepan. Cook on medium, stirring frequently, for 5-7 minutes or until most of the vinegar is reduced into a thick syrup and has been absorbed by the green onions. Remove from heat and set aside.

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. While the water is coming to a boil, combine the vinegar/onion mixture and the butter. Set aside.

When the water begins to boil, add the green beans. Cook for 3-5 minutes or until the beans float to the top and are bright green. Drain. Toss in the balsamic butter and serve immediately.

My Comments
This does make a lot of green beans, so I normally make half the recipe.

When you are cooking the vinegar mixture, be careful breathing!! Whew! It can be quite strong.  I usually do this on one of the back burners so it’s not right under my nose.

I do not use salted butter.  I only buy unsalted butter and it works just fine.  You can sprinkle in some salt if you want but I never have.

I always try a green bean around the 4-minute mark to see if it’s done or not.  Mine seem to always be floating so I have to try one to know if it’s cooked.

My picture is with the balsamic butter just drizzled over…it’s not as photogenic after it has been tossed…but it is delicious!

I love green beans fixed this way.  The flavor is great and it’s fairly quick to throw together.  This makes a great side dish and I hope you love it too, whether you try it soon…or not so soon.  🙂

One thought on “Green Beans with Balsamic Butter

Leave a Comment

