Ham Bone Soup

A couple weeks ago I cooked my first big ham for Christmas.  I mentioned in my Thankful Thursday post that week how I was thankful for my friend and her electric knife.  My friend encouraged me to save the ham bone for soup and this past weekend I pulled it out of the freezer after finding a recipe to try.  It turned out to be really good! Matt and I have been enjoying it the last couple days – days that have made “the weather outside is frightful” very real!

 

Ham Bone Soup

 

Ham Bone Soup
slightly adapted from Allrecipes.com

Ingredients
1 ham bone with some meat
1 onion, diced
1 (14.5 ounce) can peeled and diced tomatoes with juice
1 (15.25 ounce) can kidney beans
3 potatoes, cubed
1 green bell pepper, seeded and cubed
4 cups of chicken broth (want to make your own?)

What To Do
Place all ingredients into a 3-quart or larger slow cooker.

Cover and cook on High setting until warm.  Reduce heat to Low and cook for 5 – 6 hours.

Remove bone and any fatty pieces and serve.

My Comments
This smells great as it’s cooking!

After the soup cools, you can skim off any fat from the top.

 

I loved that I could make this in the slow cooker and that it didn’t need all day.  I also got to use tomatoes and green pepper from the summer that I had in the freezer.  I was curious about the ham bone when it was done but the meat had fallen right off it while cooking.

This was easy to make, turned out very hearty and so comforting to enjoy on a cold winter night.  I hope you give it a try the next time you have a ham bone!

2 thoughts on “Ham Bone Soup

Leave a Comment

