Oven-Baked Chicken Parmesan

Ah…I’ve declared today “Simple Saturday” in my world.  I’m simply going to do only one load of laundry today.  I might simply curl up on the couch and read.  If the weather forecast comes true, I’m simply going to enjoy watching more snow swirl about (and hope it’s done by the time I have to go out tonight).  I’m simply going to eat leftovers and not make something new.  I’m going to share a simple yet delicious recipe with you!

 

Oven-Baked Chicken Parmesan

 

Oven-Baked Chicken Parmesan
from the back of a Ragu pasta sauce label that I cut out in college
makes 4 servings

Ingredients
4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (about 1.25 lbs)
1 egg, slightly beaten
3/4 c Italian seasoned dry bread crumbs
1 jar (26 or 28-oz) pasta sauce
1 c shredded mozzarella cheese (about 4 oz)

What To Do
Preheat oven to 400°F.  Dip chicken in egg, then bread crumbs, coating well.  In a 9×13-inch glass baking dish, arrange chicken.  Bake uncovered for 20 minutes.

Pour pasta sauce over chicken, then top with cheese.  Bake an additional 10 minutes or until chicken is no longer pink.

Serve, if desired, with hot cooked pasta.

My Comments
I haven’t made this since I was in college but was looking for something easy the other night.  I used chicken breast tenders this time, because it was cheaper.  That’s why the chicken in the picture looks so small.

I sprayed my baking dish with vegetable spray.  Nothing got stuck!

I topped the shredded mozzarella cheese with grated parmesan cheese.

I cooked up some spaghetti noodles and served the chicken on top.  YUM.

 

I’m so glad I still had this recipe in my collection and hope you add it to yours.  It didn’t take long to make and tasted oh so good.  With only 5 ingredients (7 with parmesan cheese and pasta) and a few steps, I simply can’t believe I’ve neglected this dish for so long.

Here’s to a simply marvelous weekend!

3 thoughts on “Oven-Baked Chicken Parmesan

Leave a Comment

