Mom’s Skillet Goulash

I didn’t know who Robert was and I don’t know whose Mom this dish is referring to either.  Maybe Mrs. Pillsbury? The dough boy’s mom? I don’t know but I’m grateful they both shared their recipes.  I’d never made goulash before and when I saw this recipe I knew I wanted to try it.  It looked good, didn’t seem too complicated and sounded somewhat healthy.  I’m so glad I did – it was really good, it wasn’t complicated and I’m convinced it is healthy (especially if you compare it to triple chocolate fudge ice cream with ribbons of caramel running through it).

 

Mom's Skillet Goulash

 

Mom’s Skillet Goulash
from The Pillsbury Savvy Shopper’s Cookbook
serves 6

Ingredients
8 oz uncooked rotini pasta (2 2/3 cups)
1 lb lean ground beef (at least 80% lean)
3 medium stalks celery, chopped (1.5 cups)
1 large onion, chopped (1 cup)
2 cans (14.5 oz each) diced tomatoes, undrained
1 can (10 3/4 oz) condensed tomato soup
1 t dried basil leaves
1/2 t salt
1/4 t pepper

What To Do
Cook and drain pasta as directed on package.

Meanwhile, in 12-inch nonstick skillet, cook beef, celery and onion over medium-high heat for 5 – 7 minutes, stirring frequently, until beef is thoroughly cooked; drain.

Stir in cooked pasta and remaining ingredients.  Heat to boiling.  Reduce heat to low; simmer uncovered for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

My Comments
I loved how I could do the chopping and cook the meat/celery/onion while the pasta was cooking.  That saved a lot of time.

The celery gave the dish some texture, as it was a tad crunchy.  I liked this but you might want to cook the celery a few minutes longer if you don’t want any crunch.

This is a great recipe to use up any tomatoes you might have in the freezer from last summer’s garden or farmer’s market.

The leftovers taste great!

Next time I might try adding some green peppers, garlic, and/or some different seasonings – I think goulash is one of those dishes you can easily experiment with and adapt to your liking.

 

This makes a great, quick, hearty, comforting dinner.  I hope you give it a try.  I’m sure glad I did and will definitely be making it again!

6 thoughts on “Mom’s Skillet Goulash

  1. Allison says:

    This looks very tasty…like good ol’ fashioned winter comfort food. And it looks simple enough that I might even be able to try it 🙂

  2. Nancy down the street says:

    Hey Ann! I’m trying to convince Russ to fire up the grill and make your grilled chicken recipe–it’s so nice out today! I make a similar goulash, but without the condensed soup and we only use 1/2 lb. ground beef–you don’t miss it. Haven’t tried it with celery–will definitely try it next time! It’s one of my fave dishes to make since it’s so easy (and I grew up eating it–comfort food!).

Leave a Comment

