Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Happy Saturday to you! I hope you are well.  As you may have noticed, I haven’t posted much the past few weeks.  I had a bad cold for a while, started working a part-time job and went on vacation! Things are starting to settle down now and I’ve been itching to share these cookies with you.  Well, the recipe anyway…

I made these fabulous cookies the day before we left for vacation to take with us to snack on (why yes of course, we took some healthy snacks too).  I had made the dough ahead of time (it freezes well) so all I had to do was put it in the fridge a couple days in advance then I let it sit on the counter for maybe a half hour to an hour.  Then bake and take, my friend!

I used my small cookie scoop because I wanted little cookies that we could just pop in our mouths while we were driving or hiking or if we just needed a little something sweet.

Chocolate Chip cookies

Another thing I love about using the small cookie scoop is that more cookies fit on one tray, which saves baking time.  I confess, I made 2 dozen cookies to take with us…but they’re little so we have to it’s okay to eat more of them, right? And they are quite addictive – you really can’t eat just one!

Dough to Cookie

You can’t beat a good old fashioned chocolate chip cookie.  Nothing fancy, just yummy goodness.  These are soft and chewy cookies, which I love.  They stayed soft and chewy throughout our entire trip.  We did have a few left when we got home but they’re all gone now!

Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies
from The King Arthur Flour Baker’s Companion
makes 3 dozen 2 1/2-inch cookies

Ingredients
12 T butter (that’s 1.5 sticks), room temperature
1 1/4 c light brown sugar, firmly packed
1/4 c light corn syrup
2 t vanilla extract
3/4 t baking powder
3/4 t salt
1/4 t baking soda
1 large egg, room temperature
2 1/4 – 2 1/2 c unbleached all-purpose flour
1 c chopped nuts (toasted, optional)
2 c semisweet or bittersweet chocolate chip

What To Do
Preheat oven to 375°F.

Beat the butter, light brown sugar and corn syrup together until fluffy.  Beat in the vanilla, baking powder, salt and baking soda, and then mix in the egg.  Beat well.

Beat in the flour, then stir in the nuts and chocolate chips.  Drop cookie dough by the rounded tablespoon onto lightly greased or parchment-lined sheet pans.  Bake for 12-14 minutes, just until lightly browned at the edges.  For the chewiest cookies, do not overbake. The cookies will look slightly underdone in the middle, but will set up as they cool.

Cool on the baking sheet for 5 minutes, then remove to a wire rack to cool completely.  Store in an air-tight container.

My Comments
For the flour, I put in the larger amount (2 1/2 cups) because I like thicker cookies.

I did add nuts to mine – I used walnut pieces.  I don’t remember if I toasted them…probably not.

Instead of greasing a cookie sheet or using parchment paper, I used my handy silicone baking mat – love it!

I baked mine (and do so with all my cookies) at 350°F.  375°F is way too hot for my oven.  Also, I only baked mine for 8 – 9 minutes and that was perfect.  I recommend testing one or two out before putting a whole tray in.  Every oven is different so trust me, please test – better safe than sorry!

Of course, how many cookies you get depends on how much dough you use per cookie.

 

I’m really happy I made these little Chewy Chocolate Chip cookies to take on our trip with us.  They came in handy.  I still have some dough in the freezer and am thinking I might make some more little ones to have available for dessert (I’m sure Matt would like adding them to his ice cream) or snacks or to sneak into the movie theater share with friends.

I hope you enjoy your weekend and these cookies too! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Former Long John Silver's lover says:

    OK I confess… once in high school a friend and I snuck our Long John Silver’s dinner into the movie theater. I’m sure no one noticed 😉

Leave a Comment

