Cookbook Challenge – April

Hello! I hope you all are having a good weekend.  I saw the sun peak out for a few minutes earlier!

Spring is so great for so many things.  Outdoors, new life emerges and indoors, it’s a great time to start fresh too.  Spring cleaning and opening up the windows to get some fresh air in the house is just so refreshing and invigorating.  People often start going through all the stuff in their house in preparation for yard sale season.

Well, I started going through our stash of cookbooks and cooking magazines.  Matt and I both had some cookbooks before we got married and since then, we’ve received some as gifts and also have bought a few ourselves.  The problem is (for us anyway), it’s so much easier to look up recipes online than it is to go through a book.  I’m not sure why that is – maybe it’s comments that we can also read or the photographs or it’s just easier to search.

I guess my point is, we often neglect our cookbooks/magazines and they’re just sitting there collecting dust.  What to do? Get rid of them or use them?

Thus the hatching of a new idea:

 

Cookbook Challenge

 

The Thirty Seconds on High Cookbook Challenge!

Perhaps I’m not the only one who has sad, lonely cookbooks yearning for their pages to be turned, to be dripped on, to proudly wear a splash of this and a fleck of that, to have notes written in the margins.  I think I heard one say the other day that if only I had opened it up and turned to page 35, my day would have been much different…much better.

I’m Sorry!

I will try to do better.  I’ve accepted the challenge to open at least one cookbook/magazine each month and try a recipe.  I’ve got you all to hold me accountable.  I’ll share the results with you near the end of the month.

Will you join me? The rules are simple – just choose a cookbook/magazine you have (dust it off first if you have to) and make something.  E-mail me (look over to the right underneath the slideshow – my address is over in the sidebar) the name of the cookbook/magazine, the name of the recipe and if you want, a photo of what you made.  I’ll post yours with mine.

If you want to participate in April, and I really hope that you do, please e-mail me your results no later than Saturday, April 26th.

Let the page turning begin! 🙂

Leave a Comment

