Strawberry Muffins

Hello! I hope you are enjoying a beautiful spring day today like I am here in central Illinois.  I started working in my garden this morning and when I went to check on my strawberries, I noticed these pretty little white flowers, which means it’s almost strawberry season!

 

strawberry plant

strawberry plant 2

 

I super-♥ strawberry season and if you weren’t a Thirty Seconds on High reader last year, you should definitely check out Strawberry Week.  You will find a different recipe using fresh strawberries every day for a week!

In preparation for the upcoming season, here’s a great recipe for some delicious muffins! It’s not every day that you get to make muffins with fresh strawberries so be sure and take advantage while you can.  You won’t be sorry!

 

Strawberry Muffins

 

Strawberry Muffins
from Baked Perfection
makes 12 muffins

Ingredients
2 eggs
2/3 c white sugar
1/2 c vegetable oil
1 t vanilla extract
2 c all-purpose flour
1/2 t salt
1/2 t baking soda
1 t cinnamon
1/2 c Greek yogurt
1 1/2 c diced strawberries
sugar for dusting

What To Do
Preheat oven to 400° F. Grease 12 muffin cups or line with paper muffin liners.

In a medium bowl mix together flour, salt, and baking soda. In a large bowl beat together eggs and sugar. Mix in oil, vanilla, and Greek yogurt. Mix dry ingredients into wet mixture (be sure not to over-mix, batter will be lumpy). Gently fold in strawberries. Scoop batter into prepared muffin cups so they are 2/3 of the way full.  Dust each muffin with sugar.

Bake in preheated oven for 20 minutes.

My Comments
I used normal plain non-fat yogurt.

Using a cookie scoop is a great way to minimize messy transferring of batter from bowl to muffin tin.

I baked mine at 350°F for the same amount of time.  I can’t imagine baking them at 400°F and not burning.

 

I’m so excited for strawberry season to come!! I hope you try these muffins and love them as much as I do.  Have a great weekend!

 

2 thoughts on “Strawberry Muffins

  1. Matt says:

    Love strawberry anything, aside from the 2-3 hours in the sun it takes to pick our annual 12 pounds (who am I kidding, love that too when it means I get to eat fresh strawberries 🙂

Leave a Comment

