A Million Miles in a Thousand Years

I finished reading this book last week and I’m still thinking about it so I thought I’d share it with you too.  We’ve had good reading weather – rainy and gloomy, which just makes me want to curl up on the couch and read…or sleep.  Anyway, this is a non-fiction book and it was unlike any book I’ve ever read before.  In a good way.A Million Miles in a Thousand Years

Author Donald Miller writes about how some movie producers want to turn his memoir, which he had written previously, into a movie.  Throughout the process, he learns what makes good characters and character development and a good story on the big screen.   As he works with the movie producers to edit his own life, he realizes he can apply much of what he’s learning to his real life to make a better, more meaningful, story.

The book is very real and easy to read.  I felt like I had met Donald at a party and he was just telling me stories from his life.  Then it’s like he has these A-ha moments and not only does he have them, he takes action.  He starts applying what he’s learned to his life and then shares what happened as a result.

Like I said, I’m still thinking about this book.  I’m thinking about how I can make my life a better, more meaningful, story.  This year I’ve tried to be more intentional about various things in life and I think that’s kind of what Donald writes about too.  I think most of us want to live out a good story and I know most of us won’t have movie producers calling any time soon.  Donald had the benefit of having his life examined from a different perspective, which certainly wasn’t always easy to embrace, but maybe we can take some time to reflect and talk with a friend, then take steps to living out a more meaningful story.

I hope you give this book a try.  Although you may not have some great deep profound epiphany about life, it’s a fun read and gets you thinking, which is always a good thing.

One thought on “A Million Miles in a Thousand Years

Leave a Comment

