Peach Streusel Pie

Happy Saturday afternoon, everyone! It’s a bit hot and humid out today, just like summer should be.  Days like today remind me of when I was a kid and out picking peaches.  I can’t say I enjoyed it.  It was always so hot and humid and I don’t recall a nice breeze blowing through the orchard.  Now, I’d love to have an orchard around so I could pick peaches.  They’re so yummy and delicious straight from the tree.  Lucky for me, there’s an orchard from my hometown that comes to our farmer’s market (or should I say there are people from an orchard in my hometown that come here – LOL) so I can still get some of those precious peaches.

I did just that last Saturday and Monday morning I made this wonderfully-scrumptious-party-in-your-mouth-super-duper Peach Streusel Pie.  Holy cow it’s good.  It was really good at room temperature.  It was really great warmed up a bit.  And even though I didn’t have any with ice cream, I know someone who did and I’m pretty sure I heard him groan with pleasure.

Please.  Make.  This.  Pie.  It’s a serious pie.  Substantial.  Holds its shape.  Doesn’t run about when you slice into it.  Lovely crust.  A nice crunch (but not too much) on top for texture.

Sigh…

 

Peach Streusel Pie

 

Peach Streusel Pie
from King Arthur Flour
makes 1 9″ pie

Ingredients

Crust
Use your favorite single 9″ pie crust recipe (or buy one). I used KAF’s Guaranteed Pie Crust and used half (the other half is in the freezer for my next pie).

Filling
3/4 cup sugar (brown, white, or a combination)
3/4 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
1/8 teaspoon salt
6 cups fresh peach slices (about 10 peeled peaches, sliced; about 2 1/2 pounds whole peaches)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract, optional
1/4 teaspoon almond extract, optional
1 tablespoon lemon juice

Topping
3/4 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
1/2 cup old-fashioned oats
1/2 cup chopped pecans or walnuts
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup softened butter

What To Do
Line a 9″ pie pan with the pastry, and refrigerate while you make the filling. Preheat the oven to 425°F.

Mix the sugar, flour and salt. Toss with the peaches, extracts and lemon juice. Spoon into the crust.

Make the topping by combining the brown sugar, flour, oats, and nuts, then mixing in the soft butter until the mixture is crumbly. Sprinkle the topping over the filling.

Place the pie on a parchment-lined baking sheet. Bake for 20 minutes, reduce the oven heat to 350°F, and bake for 40 minutes more, until the filling bubbles. Cover the edges of the pie with foil or a pie shield if they brown too quickly. You can also shield the streusel with foil if it’s over-browning.

Remove the pie from the oven, and cool it completely before slicing.

My Comments
I used a 9.5″ glass pie pan.  I was afraid the crust would be too thin but it was just fine.

For the sugar in the filling, I used 1/2 c of white sugar and 1/4 c brown sugar.

The vanilla and almond extracts are optional and I did use them.

I used lemon juice from a real lemon.

The topping did start to get a little brown so I did lightly cover it with foil and it came out perfectly golden brown.

My pie did bubble over just a bit so I’m glad I put some parchment paper on the baking sheet.

 

Peach Streusel Pie Bite

One thought on “Peach Streusel Pie

Leave a Comment

