Roasted Eggplant Spread

Ahhh….happy weekend to you! I’m super excited to share this recipe with you because 1) it’s super tasty, 2) it’s super healthy, 3) it’s super easy, 4) it’s super pretty and 5) it’s super versatile.  I know that’s a lot of “super” but it’s true.

Let me share (the detailed recipe is below).

 

Step 1:  Chop up all the ingredients chunky style and put into a big bowl.  Toss with olive oil, kosher salt and pepper.

Step 1 Roasted Eggplant Spread

 

Step 2:  Dump it all onto a foil-lined baking sheet and bake.

Step 2 Roasted Eggplant Spread

 

Step 3:  Take it out of the oven and let cool for a few minutes.

Step 3 Roasted Eggplant Spread

 

Step 4:  Scoop it all into a blender or food processor and blend/pulse until you get your desired consistency.

Step 4 Roasted Eggplant Spread

 

Step 5:  Serve warm and enjoy!

Roasted Eggplant Spread

 

 

Roasted Eggplant Spread
from Our Best Bites

Ingredients
1 medium eggplant
2 red bell peppers
1 medium red onion
3-4 cloves garlic
3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1 1/2 tsp. kosher salt
1/2 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
1 tablespoon tomato paste or puréed oven-roasted tomatoes

What To Do
Preheat oven to 400°F and line a rimmed baking sheet with aluminum foil. Set aside. Chop eggplant, peppers, and onion into 1″ cubes. Smash the garlic. Toss together the vegetables and then drizzle them in olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Toss to evenly coat the vegetables and then spread them over the prepared baking sheet. Place the pan in the oven and roast the vegetables for 20 minutes. Flip/stir the vegetables with a spatula and then roast for another 20 minutes or until the vegetables are tender and browning. Remove from the oven and allow to cool slightly. Place the roasted vegetables along with the tomato paste or roasted tomatoes into a blender or food processor and pulse until the desired consistency is reached.

Serve warm with slices of sourdough bread, pita chips, flatbread, or Rosemary Focaccia. You can also toss this sauce with hot pasta for a light vegetarian meal.

My Comments
I’m not 100% sure what size a “medium” eggplant is but the last two times I made this, I weighed mine out of curiosity and one was 3/4 lb. and the other one was 1 lb.

I almost always use a “normal” onion because that’s what I have on hand and I don’t use a ton of red onions.  This time I did use a red onion only because Matt had used part of one for something and the rest needed to be used up.  It tastes good either way.

I always use puréed oven-roasted tomatoes instead of tomato paste.  This is because I grow tomatoes in my garden and it’s easy (super easy) to include it when roasting the other ingredients.  I usually use a roma tomato sliced in half length-wise.

This can be made with other kinds of peppers but I recently learned that the red peppers give the spread its pretty color.  I’ve also made it with sweet banana peppers and although it was still yummy, it just wasn’t as pretty.  I like pretty food.

So I mentioned this is super versatile.  In the picture, I have fresh-baked (warm) plain pizza dough to dip into the spread.  I’ve also used the Roasted Eggplant Spread as a pasta sauce (try it on cheese ravioli – YUM), as a spread on sandwiches, Matt used it to cook meatballs in and that was really good, and a friend of mine put some on homemade pizza.  There are many options.

 

There you have it! A super recipe for all my super friends out there.  I hope you all have a super duper weekend!

2 thoughts on “Roasted Eggplant Spread

Leave a Comment

