Pumpkin Brownies

Ugh, so I’m having one of those nights where I’m exhausted but can’t sleep.  It’s really frustrating but I’m making lemonade here…rather than lay there irritated that I’m not asleep I’m sharing a yummy recipe with you! I’m sorry I haven’t posted much the last few weeks.  I’ve just been busy and not really cooking or baking much.  Oh, I’ve been in the kitchen plenty dealing with a lovely variety of produce – pears, apples, peaches, tomatoes (oh my!) –  but it’s nothing to write home about.  Or blog about.  And I’ve been outside trying to get outdoor stuff done before it got cold.  Like yesterday…it was really cold out! I’m SO glad I got all my patio plants cleaned up and brought in just in the nick of time.

But anyway, back to sharing a yummy recipe.  Yesterday I made these Pumpkin Brownies for the first time and they turned out really well.  There’s pumpkin everything out there right now and here’s my contribution.

 

Pumpkin Brownies

 

Pumpkin Brownies
from My Baking Addiction

Ingredients
Brownie Batter
4 ounces unsweetened chocolate; coarsely chopped
3/4 cup unsalted butter, cut into cubes (that’s one and a half sticks – 12 T)
1 1/4 cups sugar
3 large eggs
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup all-purpose flour

Pumpkin Filling
4 ounces cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup pumpkin puree (want to make your own?)
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice (want to make your own?)
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Ganache Topping
4 ounces semisweet chocolate, chopped
1/2 cup heavy cream

What To Do
Preheat oven to 350°F. Line an 8×8 inch baking pan with foil and spray with nonstick cooking spray.

Microwave chocolate and butter in a large microwave-safe bowl at medium (50% power) for 3-4 minutes or until butter is melted. While the chocolate is melting, prepare the pumpkin layer. In a medium bowl, combine cream cheese, pumpkin puree, sugar, pumpkin pie spice and vanilla. Beat with an electric mixer well combined and smooth. Set aside.

Once the butter is melted, remove the bowl from the microwave and stir until chocolate is melted. Whisk in sugar, eggs, vanilla and salt. Gradually add in flour; stir until just combined.

Spread 3/4 the batter into prepared pan. Spoon pumpkin filling by tablespoonfuls evenly over batter. Spoon remaining brownie batter over filling. Use a knife or wooden skewer to cut through the batter several times in different directions to create a swirled pattern. Bake in preheated oven for 30-35 minutes – do not overbake.

Remove to cooling rack to cool completely. Before serving, prepare the ganache.

To make the ganache, pour the chopped chocolate into a medium mixing bowl, set aside. Pour the heavy cream into a microwave safe measuring cup (Pyrex) and microwave on high for about 1 minute or until bubbles begin to form on the surface. Take care to not overheat because the cream will boil over. Pour the hot cream over the chocolate and allow it to sit for about 3 minutes. Use a small whisk to combine the mixture into a smooth chocolate glaze. Spoon the ganache over the brownies.

My Comments
Microwaves are different so keep an eye on your butter/chocolate melting.  You can also do this on the stove – just melt the butter then remove from the heat and throw the chocolate in and stir until smooth…you might need to put it back on the heat depending on how small/big you chopped the chocolate.

I recommend preparing the ganache earlier than just before serving.  That way it has time to set up a bit and it’s easier to spread on top.  Also, I cut my brownies first and then put the ganache on top.

I added a pinch of pumpkin pie spice to my ganache just for a little extra somethin’.

 

Fall is in full swing and enjoying pumpkin food is a great way to embrace the season.  As they say, Happy Fall, Y’all! 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Brownies

Leave a Comment

