Roasted Butternut Squash Salad

HEY YOU GUYS! (Goonies anyone? Anyone?)

I’ve had a great morning! What about you? Happy weekend to you all.  I had been trying to make this salad for about a week now and finally got it made this morning.  I was looking around at foodgawker a couple weeks ago and saw it there.  Never heard of foodgawker? You should totally Check. It. Out.  Especially if you love and appreciate food.  Be warned, though – you can completely lose track of time and everything around you because you will be 100% absorbed.  One day I hope to have a picture on there of something I made.

Anyway, I saw a picture of this salad and after clicking on it found I had all the ingredients except one.  I was a bit skeptical because the kale was raw and I’ve always thought of raw kale as being kinda bitter.  However, I had kale from my garden to use up so after Matt picked up a can of chick peas for me from the store (thank you, dear!) I was all set to make this pretty salad.

And it was good.

 

Roasted Butternut Squash Salad

 

Talk about pleasantly surprised! This salad is really good! Even after I accidentally put in a tablespoon of honey in the dressing instead of the one teaspoon it called for and even though I didn’t quite have enough butternut squash and even though I didn’t have couscous and used quinoa instead…it turned out great and I’m so happy because it’s also good for me! Yes, this is healthy and tasty.  And that makes me happy.  That and it’s pretty.  Oh, and the kale’s not bitter at all!

Okay, here’s how you can make it too!

Butternut Squash Salad
from An Edible Mosaic

Ingredients
Dressing
2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
2 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
1 teaspoon honey
1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon black pepper

Salad
1 (1 1/2 lbs/680 g) butternut squash, peeled, de-seeded, and cubed into 1/2-inch pieces
2 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 teaspoon salt, divided
1/8 teaspoon black pepper
1 1/3 cups (315 ml) water
1 cup (170 g) whole wheat pearl couscous
1 medium sweet onion, diced
5 oz (150 g) kale, washed, de-stemmed, and finely chopped
1 (15.5 oz/439 g) can chickpeas, rinsed and drained

 

What To Do
Whisk together all ingredients for the dressing in a small bowl and set aside.Preheat oven to 425F. Toss together the cubed squash, olive oil, 1/4 teaspoon salt, and black pepper on the baking sheet and then spread the squash out in a single layer. Roast the squash until tender and golden in places, about 20 minutes, tossing the squash once halfway through. Cool.Bring the water to a boil in a medium saucepan, then add the pearl couscous and the remaining 1/4 teaspoon salt. Bring back up to a boil, then reduce heat to simmer; cover the pot and cook until the water is absorbed, about 20 minutes. Remove from heat and cool.Add the butternut squash, pearl couscous, onion, kale, chickpeas, and salad dressing to a large bowl and gently toss to combine.

Serve or keep refrigerated for up to 2 days.

My Comments
So, as previously mentioned, I used quinoa instead of couscous.

Keep an eye on your squash as it’s roasting.  Mine didn’t take 20 minutes, I’m assuming because of the size of the pieces.  When I took it out after 10 minutes to toss, it was tender and I didn’t want it to get squishy in the salad so that was it.

You can make this in stages and even out of order.  I didn’t make the dressing until later in the process.  While the squash was roasting I got the quinoa going on the stove (just follow the directions on the bag).  Everything has to cool down before you put it all together anyway so this is a great recipe to make over time or if you have distractions you won’t feel stressed out.  Just relax and have fun with it!

 

Roasted Butternut Squash Salad

 

I never really think of eating salad when it’s not summer but this is a great Fall salad.  I’m glad to have found it and I hope you give it a try!

3 thoughts on “Roasted Butternut Squash Salad

  1. Karyn says:

    Enjoyed this very much. It’s possible that I just finished putting this together for a potluck tomorrow night. Yum! Thanks for sharing the sample & recipe!

Leave a Comment

