Acorn Squash & Pear Soup

I think the warm days are over…which means it’s time for a big bowl o’ soup! This Acorn Squash & Pear Soup will certainly warm you up on a chilly day.  It has good flavor and is oh-so-comforting.  Matt and I enjoyed some for lunch today!

 

Acorn Squash and Pear Soup

 

Acorn Squash & Pear Soup
from Taste of Home Dec/Jan 2013 Issue
makes 10 servings (2 1/2 quarts)

Ingredients

  • 2 medium acorn squash, peeled and cut into 3/4-inch cubes
  • 4 medium firm pears, peeled and coarsely chopped
  • 3 celery ribs, thinly sliced
  • 1 large onion, finely chopped
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried sage leaves
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 carton (48 ounces) chicken broth

What To Do

  • In a large bowl, combine the first nine ingredients; toss to coat. Transfer to a greased shallow roasting pan. Roast at 375° for 1-1/4 hours or until squash is tender, stirring occasionally.
  • Cool slightly. In a food processor, process squash mixture with broth in batches until smooth. Transfer to a Dutch oven; heat through, stirring occasionally.

My Comments
This does take a bit of prep time.  The magazine says only 20 minutes but I took a lot longer.  I think peeling the squash took the longest.  It wasn’t too hard but it wasn’t easy either.

First (after cutting the squash in half) I did a preliminary peeling with the vegetable peeler:

acorn squash

Then I sliced the squash and that made it easy to get the rest:

acorn squash

I used 1 green acorn squash and a white one.  Also, I only had 3 pears so I used an apple too!  (Depth of flavor anyone? Tom from Top Chef – are you reading this?)

Here’s what it all looked like before it went into the oven:

before

And here’s after:

after

Oh, the house smelled really really good while this was in the oven!

I used my blender, rather than the food processor, to combine the squash mixture and chicken broth.

It does make a lot so have a big pot ready to pour it all into.  And I’ll be putting some in the freezer to enjoy later when it’s really winter.

 

I’m so glad I found this recipe.  A big Thank You to my friend who gave me the magazine! I hope you all can enjoy this soup this fall and/or winter.  It’d be great to make ahead of time, freeze, then get it out when you have company for either Thanksgiving or Christmas or any gathering.

 

3 thoughts on “Acorn Squash & Pear Soup

  1. Hi Anne, I took a couple shortcuts as I had previously tried to peel my thumb while making acorn squash fries. First, I went ahead and roasted the pears and squash with the peels on them. I was able to use my hands to remove the peel from the squash and left the peel on the pears. I sauteed the onions and celery, then added the squash and pears with the broth. This soup is wonderful, I took it with me and shared it while visiting family.

Leave a Comment

