Refrigerator Mashed Potatoes

I read something the other day (and, of course, I can’t for the life of me remember where) that said something about not focusing on how stressed you are but how blessed you are.  Thanksgiving is coming up very soon (next week!) and though the very nature of Thanksgiving is all about giving thanks for our blessings, it’s often a day (or several days) of crazy stress.  You know, trying to make plans, families getting together, cooking, cleaning, entertaining, traveling – all good things – but can cause some stress in our lives.

What does this have to do with Refrigerator Mashed Potatoes?

Well, my friends, if you are hosting Thanksgiving this year, and you want some yummy mashed potatoes, and you want to get as much done ahead of time as possible so you don’t spend all your time in the kitchen when you could and should be spending time with your guests, then you will want this recipe!

Remember:  less stress! You can make these up to two weeks in advance! Then just pop ’em in the oven on the big day and enjoy.

 

Refrigerator Mashed Potatoes

 

Refrigerator Mashed Potatoes
from two different friends at two different times in my life
serves 10 – 12

Ingredients
5 lbs potatoes
6 oz cream cheese
2 t onion salt
1 c sour cream
1/2 – 1 t salt
1/4 t pepper
2 T butter

What To Do
Peel potatoes and cut into roughly same-sized pieces.

Cook potatoes in a large pot of boiling water until tender.  Drain and return to pot.

Mash until smooth.  Add remaining ingredients and beat/whip until fluffy.

After they cool down, cover and place in refrigerator.  May be kept for two weeks.

To use: place desired amount in a greased casserole.  Dot with butter and bake at 350ºF until heated through, about 30 minutes.

My Comments
I don’t think it matters much what kind of potatoes you use.  Today I used red potatoes because they conveniently came in a 5-lb bag.  I have used other kinds in the past.

To save time, put a large pot of water on the stove and get it warming while you’re peeling and cutting the potatoes.  It might just work out that when you finish with the potatoes, the water will be boiling.

You might want to set the cream cheese and sour cream out ahead of time so they’re not so cold when you incorporate them into the potatoes.  You could set them out when you start peeling the potatoes.

I cut my potatoes into roughly 1″ pieces.  The smaller you cut them, the faster they’ll cook.  Just make sure they’re about the same size so they cook evenly.

Refrigerator Mashed Potatoes

Today my potatoes took 15 – 20 minutes to cook. To test if they are tender, take a few pieces out and stick a fork in them. If it goes in easily, they’re done.

If you like chunkier mashed potatoes (me! me! I do!), use a potato masher to incorporate the remaining ingredients instead of hand beaters or a mixer (less dishes to wash too!).  Another time saver is to go ahead and add the remaining ingredients to the drained potatoes and mash them all together.  I did this and as you can see, I cut the cream cheese and butter into smaller pieces so they’d melt and mash easier.

Refrigerator Mashed Potatoes

Oh, and I just did the mashing on the stove because I was short on counter space. The pot was not on a heated burner while I mashed.

Refrigerator Mashed Potatoes

When I’ve made these in the past, I warmed them in a 9″ x 13″ glass baking dish, which held the entire amount of mashed potatoes.  You could go ahead and store them in your fridge in a greased baking dish but this time I’m using a bowl and will transfer to a baking dish later.

Refrigerator Mashed Potatoes

 

I made these today because Matt & I are hosting Thanksgiving this year.  I am definitely a planner and like to get as much done as possible ahead of time.  I feel very blessed to be able to make this part of the meal ahead of time.  If you are traveling and taking a dish, this might be a good option for you too – if your weather is anything like mine is now, your Refrigerator Mashed Potatoes will stay cold in the trunk of your car until you reach your destination.

I love hosting and I love these mashed potatoes and I love less stress.  It is possible to have it all!

Leave a Comment

