Cranberry Sauce

You know how “they” say there are two kinds of people in the world? And then “they” go on to say what those two kinds are.  Well, I’m going to add another one – there are two kinds of people in the world – those who like canned cranberry sauce and those who like homemade real cranberry sauce.  Guess which one I am?

That’s right – no canned cylindrical sauce for me.  It’s so easy (only 3 ingredients!) to make and tastes great.  I love that it can be made ahead of time and I just love the bits of real cranberries in there.  It’s super pretty too.  Definitely a great addition to the table.  Oh, and the leftovers! Great for spreading on toast or turkey sandwiches or even making a cranberry yogurt coffeecake.  Hmmm…maybe a future post?

 

Cranberry Sauce

 

Cranberry Sauce
from the label on the bag of cranberries

makes about 4 cups

Ingredients
3 c fresh or frozen cranberries
1.5 c sugar
3/4 c water

What To Do
Simmer cranberries and water together over medium heat.  Add sugar.  Simmer for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Pour into a container and cool.  Refrigerate after cool.

My Comments
At the store I most frequently shop at, fresh cranberries come in 12-oz bags, which is about 3 cups.  I just use the whole bag.

You could substitute orange juice for the water or do a mixture of both.  I use a mixture of both.

Cranberry Sauce

I turn the heat down to simmer after adding the sugar.  I don’t think it needs to be at a rolling boil for 10 minutes!

Cranberry Sauce

I love the Pop! Pop! while the cranberries are cooking.

Hmmm…I’ve never measured the end result before but today I poured the sauce into my 4-cup glass liquid measuring cup (to cool and store it in until Thursday) and it came to 2.5 cups! Still plenty but weird….

The sauce will set up (firm up, gel) as it cools.  You can make this a few days ahead of time, which is great! I wouldn’t store it in the bowl you want to serve it in, though, because I like to stir it up a bit before serving and want to make sure it all looks nice on the table…but that’s just me.

 

Wouldn’t this make a fun jigsaw puzzle?

Cranberry Sauce

You know, just in case you (or perhaps your guests) need something to do. 🙂

Have a great week!

2 thoughts on “Cranberry Sauce

Leave a Comment

