Apple Cranberry “Dessert”

Hello! As I mentioned the other day in my Thankful Thursday post, I’ve been under the weather for a few weeks but I’m now much better and going out into the world – the real world and the blog world.  While I was sick, Matt made this WONDERFUL apple cranberry dish.  I made more today.  It’s that good.

He made it for dessert, as that’s what it’s intended to be.  And it was good.  For dinner, he had made some pork chops and Herb-Roasted Potatoes Poupon and it was the perfect end to the meal.

I must admit, I ended up mixing up leftover pork chops, potatoes and apple cranberry topping all together for lunch the next day…it was soooo good.

Then a few days later I put some on top of a couple Whole Wheat Apple Cinnamon Pancakes.  And it was good…probably didn’t need the maple syrup but what the hay…

When I ran out of pancakes, I made oatmeal.  I mixed it in with great anticipation.  And this too was good!

I believe Matt put it on ice cream and loved it.

It’s too good not to share it with you.  One dish that can be served in so many different ways? Oh yeah!

 

Apple Cranberry Dessert

 

 

Apple Cranberry “Dessert”
from Cooking Light
yields 6 cups, or so they say (they also call it “baked apples”)

Ingredients
2 cups dried cranberries
1 1/4 cups coarsely chopped walnuts
1 cup packed brown sugar
1 cup water
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
6 Gala Apples, cored and chopped (about 3 pounds)

What To Do
Combine all ingredients in a large microwave-safe dish. Microwave at high 20 minutes or until apples are soft, stirring occasionally.

My Comments
I made half the recipe today.  I didn’t realize this at the time but Matt must have made half the recipe too.  It makes a lot.  No, I didn’t measure it – sorry…

Both times we used different kinds of nuts.  I guess we never have walnuts in the house.

Also both times we used different kinds of apples.  I don’t know what kind Matt used, but today I used Golden Delicious and it turned out just fine…delicious, one might say.

 

So even though it’s not apple season, I hope you give this recipe a try.  I’d never microwaved anything on High for 20 minutes before but it really works.  It’s so good and so easy to put together.  And the entire house smells really good as it’s cooking!

Okay – I’m going to go eat some! Have a great week!

One thought on “Apple Cranberry “Dessert”

Leave a Comment

