Creamy Avocado Yogurt Dip

Whew – I can’t believe January 2015 is already almost over! Or I guess I should say, Woo-Hoo! There are still 11 months left of 2015! Eleven months of who knows what.  It’s scary and exciting at the same time.

Kinda like this dip.

Yup, scary because it’s healthy and you might wonder, “Will it taste good? Do I really want to eat something green on my chips? Should I even try it?”

Exciting because if it is good, then you can easily snack away and feel good about it.  Exciting because it is green and you could make it for St. Patrick’s Day and Earth Day and It’s Not Easy Being Green Day.  Okay, not sure if that last one is really a thing…

…but you can wow your friends because as it turns out, there’s nothing to be afraid of! I made this Creamy Avocado Dip yesterday and it’s good! I even bought multi-grain chips to dip with.  You can also dip vegetables in it but let’s not go crazy.

 

Creamy Avocado Yogurt Dip

 

Creamy Avocado Yogurt Dip
slightly adapted from Two Peas & Their Pod

Ingredients
1/2 cup plain fat-free yogurt
2 ripe avocados, peeled and seeded
1 clove garlic, minced
3 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro
2 tablespoons fresh lime juice (from a real lime!)
1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
Salt and ground black pepper, to taste

What To Do
Place the yogurt, avocados, garlic, cilantro, lime juice and cumin in a blender or food processor. Mix until smooth. Season with salt and pepper, to taste.

My Comments
Feel free to add some jalapeno for some kick.

I love that I can just throw all the ingredients in the food processor.  This is so simple to make!

Don’t let the cumin deter you – if you don’t have any, just leave it out.

Did you have to buy a big bunch of cilantro for just 3 tablespoons? I did and here’s a handy “trick” for storing cilantro to make it last longer.

 

Eleanor Roosevelt said, “Do something every day that scares you.”  Whether or not the idea of mixing yogurt and avocados scares you or not, I hope you try this dip.  It tastes great and it’s healthy to boot.  Can’t beat that!

Have a great week – be strong and courageous! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Creamy Avocado Yogurt Dip

Leave a Comment

