Orange Chocolate Chunk Bread

Happy weekend, everyone! I don’t know about you, but I had a long week and am ready for some R&R.  But what good is R&R without something yummy to munch on?

 

IMG_2734 (640x427) with text

 

Mmmm…bread! And not just any bread.  Orange Chocolate Chunk Bread!! This is easy and quick to whip up (no mixer required) and your house will smell wonderful (like a spa!) while it’s baking!

 

Orange Chocolate Chunk Bread

 

Orange Chocolate Chunk Bread
from My Baking Addiction
makes 1 loaf

Ingredients
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour + 2 tablespoons
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon ground ginger
1 cup granulated sugar
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 cup milk
zest of 1 orange
3/4 cup dark chocolate chunks

What To Do
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Spray a glass loaf pan with non stick spray and set aside.

In a large large bowl, whisk together 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, baking powder and ground ginger. In a second bowl, whisk together sugar, eggs, oil, vanilla, milk and orange zest. Pour wet mixture into the dry and stir until combined. Toss dark chocolate chunks with remaining 2 tablespoons of flour then gently fold them into batter.

Pour batter into loaf pan and bake for 55-65 minutes, or until toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

Allow bread to cool completely before removing from the pan. Slice and serve!

My Comments
I doubled the recipe to make 2 loaves.

FUN – I got to use my microplane grater/zester, one of my favorite handy kitchen gadgets!

When digging out my dark chocolate chips, I found a Lindt Excellence Intense Orange Dark Chocolate Bar so chopped it up.  It wasn’t quite enough so I used dark chocolate chips for the rest.

My batter was rather thin so I didn’t really see the need to “gently” fold in the chocolate.  And, even though I tossed the chocolate with flour, the majority of the chocolate sunk to the bottom of the bread anyway.  I was kinda disappointed in that so next time I might sprinkle the chocolate chunks on top of the bread batter or pour half the batter in the pan then sprinkle with some chocolate then add the remaining batter and put the rest on top.

I highly recommend lining your bread pans with parchment paper (spray the paper with non-stick spray) because I had a little trouble getting the baked loaves out of the pan because some chocolate chunks got stuck to the bottom of the pan.

My loaves took 75 minutes to bake.

 

Orange Chocolate Chunk Bread

 

This bread tastes great and I love how you can see the orange zest throughout.  Orange and Chocolate go great together, just like Rest and Relaxation!

Have a great weekend!

 

One thought on “Orange Chocolate Chunk Bread

Leave a Comment

