Roasted Cauliflower and Potato Soup

Hello out there!! I woke up surrounded by snow today.  How about you?

Snow

 

And it’s still coming down!

Snowing

 

Thank God for the Internet, right? I can still communicate with the outside world! 🙂

So since I’m snowed in, I decided to get a head start on cooking for the week.  I saw a recipe this past week for some cauliflower soup and was intrigued.  There were only six ingredients.  I decided to give it a try this morning and I guess I was feeling lucky (it is March now, you know – with leprechauns and pots of gold and the whole bit) because instead of following the recipe, I went off on my own and came up with this Roasted Cauliflower and Potato Soup.  There’s still not that many ingredients and it turned out great!

 

Roasted Cauliflower and Potato Soup

 

Roasted Cauliflower and Potato Soup
inspired by Crepes of Wrath

makes about 6.5 cups of soup

Ingredients
1 head of cauliflower, broken down into florets
1 potato, cubed
3 cloves of garlic, smashed
olive oil
salt
pepper
1 carton (32 oz) of chicken broth (I’m sure vegetable broth would work too)

What To Do (or at least, What I Did)
Preheat oven to 425°F.  Line a baking sheet with foil.

Place the cauliflower florets, the cubed potato and the smashed garlic on the lined baking sheet.

Drizzle with olive oil, salt and freshly ground pepper.

Roast the cauliflower/potato/garlic in the oven for 15 minutes.  Remove and stir/toss and then roast for 15 more minutes (or until tender).

Remove tray from oven and blend the vegetable mixture in batches with the chicken broth.  I used my blender, but you could use a food processor too.  Pour each batch into a large pot.  Season with salt/pepper to taste.  I didn’t need to add any, but your tastes might be different from mine.

Heat through and serve.  It’s fun to add a little fresh cracked pepper and olive oil drizzle on top of the individual servings to make it pretty.

A Couple Photos Along the Way
Roasted Cauliflower and Potato Soup

Roasted Cauliflower and Potato Soup

Roasted Cauliflower and Potato Soup

 

I know it’s weird to make soup in the morning but hey, now I’ve got yummy soup to eat on a cold winter day.  If you don’t have a potato sitting around begging to be used up like I did, just leave it out – I’m sure this would still taste great without it.

I hope this inspires you to experiment too.  Sometimes I’m too scared to try an idea out because I don’t want to waste ingredients or am afraid it won’t turn out well.  But I’m here (and not going anywhere – haha) to tell you that it’s okay! Go ahead, try it! You’ll never know if you don’t try.

Have a great week!

2 thoughts on “Roasted Cauliflower and Potato Soup

Leave a Comment

