Tuna Cakes

Good morning! It’s definitely SPRING and I hope you all are enjoying warmer weather and beauty all around.  This past week I found I’m kinda ready for some lighter meals.  Don’t get me wrong, I love me some winter comfort food but I think it’s time to lighten it up a bit.

These Tuna Cakes are perfect for a lighter spring and/or summer meal.  They’re pretty quick to prep and cook and they taste great! Pair with a salad and you’re good to go.

 

Tuna Cakes

 

Tuna Cakes
from the Spring 2008 issue of Food & Family Magazine

makes about 12 cakes

Ingredients
2 cans (6 oz each) light tuna, in water, drained and flaked
1 pkg (6 oz) stuffing mix for chicken
1 c shredded mild cheddar cheese
1/2 c shredded carrots
1/3 c mayonnaise
2 T pickle relish
3/4 c water

What To Do
Mix all ingredients together in a bowl.  Cover and refrigerate for 10 minutes.

Heat a large nonstick skillet sprayed with cooking spray on medium heat.  Scoop the tuna mixture, using about 1/3 cup for each cake, into skillet in batches.

Gently flatten cakes using a spatula.

Cook 3 minutes on each side or until they’re golden brown on both sides, turning cakes over carefully.

My Comments
I recommend scooping all the tuna mixture so it’s ready to go when you start cooking.  If you have an ice cream scoop, that would be helpful.  I don’t have one so stuffed the mixture into my 1/3 measuring cup.

So….as you’ll see in my photos below…and I JUST realized this as I was typing out the ingredient list…I totally forgot to add the mayo when I made these yesterday! What was I thinking??? Oh well, they still turned out great.  I did have to add a little more water after it sat in the fridge because it wasn’t holding together very well – now I know why! Yeesh! But if you don’t like mayo or can’t eat it for whatever reason or if you realize you’re out of mayo, please know that you can just leave it out and add a bit more water and it’ll be just fine.

This batch made 11 tuna cakes.

Some Photos Along the Way
Tuna Cakes

Tuna Cakes

 

These tuna cakes are great! Hooray for spring and summer coming! I hope you try these out and oh, you can make up the mixture ahead of time and then just cook some up as needed.  I bet it’d be good with some tarter sauce too but I just squeezed some lemon on mine and was happy.

Have a great week!

One thought on “Tuna Cakes

Leave a Comment

